amazed … not always a good thing

According to Merriam-Webster, the transitive verb amazed is defined: to fill with wonders, astound.

In Scripture, being amazed is obviously a good thing the vast, vast majority of time.  When the object of amazement is Jesus … be it via the person of Christ, the miracles of Christ, the teaching of Christ, the authority of Christ, etc. … we all should be indeed amazed!

But I encountered a used of the word amazed in Mark 6 (NIV) that surprised me … and made me want to dig deeper.

The word amazed or some variation occurs in the New Testament 27 times in the ESV, 45 times in the NIV and 46 times in the NASB.  And I think there are some very significant warnings in the Bible regarding the word amazed when Jesus is not the object of that amazement

Here’s the verse that prompted me to dig deeper … but first there is an obsolete definition of amazed that you need to be aware of:  bewilder, perplex.  That definition, although obsolete, seems more appropriate in the next couple of verses …

He was amazed at their lack of faith. Mark 6:6 (NIV)

Warning #1:  Don’t let your lack of faith be the object of amazement for Jesus.

Next verse …

Now for some time a man named Simon had practiced sorcery in the city and amazed all the people of Samaria. He boasted that he was someone great, and all the people, both high and low, gave him their attention and exclaimed, “This man is rightly called the Great Power of God.” They followed him because he had amazed them for a long time with his sorcery.  Acts 8:9-11 (NIV)

Warning #2: Be very careful about what you choose and permit to be the object of your amazement!

Continue …

I am amazed that you are so quickly deserting Him who called you by the grace of Christ, for a different gospel; which is really not another; only there are some who are disturbing you and want to distort the gospel of Christ.  Galatians 1:6-7 (NASB)

Warning #3: Don’t amaze your Christians brothers and sisters by deserting Christ Jesus for false idols, false gods or false gospels.

One more … remember Simon the sorcerer above …

Even Simon himself believed; and after being baptized, he continued on with Philip, and as he observed signs and great miracles taking place, he was constantly amazed.  Acts 8:13 (NASB)

There is ALWAYS hope for …

Those who believe IN Christ Jesus … they will observe His signs and great miracles … and be constantly amazed!  Amen! Amen! and Amen!

Bernie 

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to amazed … not always a good thing

  1. savedbygrace says:

    interesting about Simon the sorcerer. i would like to believe that his first reason to becoming a christian, is probably to perform those signs and wonders he saw.

    maybe some of us have become believers because we were in need of a miracle, like healing.

    yes, my intention of going to church before was because i was sick. didnt bother knowing Jesus. just make me well.

    I honestly believe, God does not care of our intentions. because after we experienced God’s goodness, repentance happens. repentance being “change of mind”

    now, we no longer come to God for healing. because we know he heals us regardless of our behavior. but rather we come to Him because we are simply “amazed”.

    no wonder the captain wrote the song “amazing grace”

    • bwebbjr says:

      No wonder indeed my friend … John Newton truly experienced amazing grace … as all of us drawn to Christ Jesus do … appreciate your insights and comment!

Leave a Reply

