Are you out of your mind?

What would you say if I were to tell you that being told, “You’re out of your mind”. just might be a compliment to your spirituality and your walk of faith?

As a result of Paul’s appeal to Caesar, the apostle found himself before King Agrippa, Bernice and Governor Festus offering his defense against the charges brought against him by the chief priests and the principal men of the Jews  (See Acts 24-26).   As his defense drew to a close, Paul spoke of his Damascus road encounter with Jesus, his subsequent conversion and his mission work as an apostle.

Powerful, powerful testimony!

Yet, note how Festus reacted …

Festus said with a loud voice, “Paul, you are out of your mind; your great learning is driving you out of your mind.”

But Paul never missed a beat …

But Paul said, “I am not out of my mind, most excellent Festus, but I am speaking true and rational words.”

An intense commitment to speaking and living the truth makes you look crazy to those living without that truth.

But Festus, Agrippa and Bernice were all strangers to Paul …

What if your family thought you were crazy because of your commitment to your faith?

Maybe your family does think that … if so, you’re running in good company.

Great crowds – both for and against – followed Jesus everywhere as he traveled about the countryside healing many and casting out demons.  Then he went up on a mountain and appointed twelve apostles.  Finally he returned home and the crowds were so great He and the apostles could not even eat (see Mark 3).

Can you imagine His family’s surprise at the crowds gathering … all because of their son and sibling Jesus?

So when they heard about the crowds they sought out Jesus …

They went out to seize him, for they were saying, “He is out of his mind.”

Perhaps you have discovered that your family are oftentimes the most difficult to share your faith with … did you realize Jesus stated as much in Mark 6:1-4 …

He went away from there and came to his hometown, and his disciples followed him.  And on the Sabbath he began to teach in the synagogue, and many who heard him were astonished, saying, “Where did this man get these things? What is the wisdom given to him? How are such mighty works done by his hands? Is not this the carpenter, the son of Mary and brother of James and Joses and Judas and Simon? And are not his sisters here with us?” And they took offense at him.  And Jesus said to them …

A prophet is not without honor, except in his hometown and among his relatives and in his own household.

You know what?  I can’t wait until, because of my love for Jesus, someone tells me, “You’re out of your mind!”

How about you?

Oh, happy days!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are you out of your mind?

  1. judikruis says:

    I’m savoring your posts and His Words that you are sharing Bernie. They are coinciding with many of the messages and lessons in my life and I give thanks for His timing of my reading. Thank you for bringing confirmations and further insight as you process your journey with Jesus.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Judi – it is both reassuring and comforting to know the Lord is encouraging you through what He inspired me to write here, God’s timing and plan is incredibly perfect, isn’t it? May He continue to inspire and bless you in the journey with Him! Bernie

Leave a Reply

