Are you on the right race course?

You may be wondering what in the world I’m talking about.

You may be thinking, “I’m not even running a race.  Why would I then even need to be on a race course?”

Through my grandson’s upcoming fun run and my fun walk, I sense the Holy Spirit teaching me some life lessons about the race courses, the race leaders and the race finish lines.

Whether we realize it or not, we are all in a race … and there are three questions we must ask ourselves:

  1. Are we on the right race course?
  2. Who is leading our race?
  3. Are we heading to the right finish line?

In Luke 13:32, Jesus speaks of finishing His course.  In Acts 13:24-25, Luke writes of John the Baptist finishing his course.  In 2 Corinthians 8:20, Paul speaks of the course he is traveling.

Consider Paul’s words to the elders at Ephesus …

But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.  Acts 20:24 (ESV)

There is indeed a course that is set by the Lord Jesus, a course on which we follow Him.  And while we also run to Him at the finish line, never forget that He also runs the race with us.  And this course leads to life … life eternal.

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.  In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.4 And you know the way to where I am going.”  Thomas said to him, “Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?”  Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”  John 14:1-6 (ESV)

But there is another race course … another finish line …

And you were dead in the trespasses and sins  in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience—among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind.  Ephesians 2:1-3 (ESV)

The other race course, the course of the world, is a course on which we follow the prince of the power of the air … the devil aka satan.  And just like a pied piper, he leads all those who will follow away from Jesus … and into death.  Rather than becoming children of God, they remain children of wrath.

Just in case you question my conclusions above, consider these words of Jesus …

“Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it.  For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.  Matthew 7:13-14 (NASB)

I like the way the NASB translates that … having been to NYC … the broad way paints a very clear picture for me.  So from the mouth of our Lord and Savior come these words …

  • The way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.
  • The way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it.

We all have a choice to make … note the decision Joshua presented to the Israelites …

“Now therefore fear the LORD and serve him in sincerity and in faithfulness. Put away the gods that your fathers served beyond the River and in Egypt, and serve the LORD.  AND IF IT IS EVIL IN YOUR EYES TO SERVE THE LORD, choose this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your fathers served in the region beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”  Joshua 24:14-15 (ESV)

Joshua makes the choices rather clear, don’t you think?

  • Fear the Lord and serve Him in sincerity and in faithfulness … or
  • If it is evil in your eyes to serve the Lord, then you have chosen to serve the false gods

That phrase above really has my attention, ‘And if it is evil in your eyes to serve the Lord’ … evil? Is that really what people believe, who reject the Lord or embrace indecision?

Are you on the race course of Jesus Christ … or the race course of the world?

Are you following Jesus Christ to the finish line … or are you following the prince of the air to the finish line?

Are you headed to the finish line that leads to life … or the finish line that leads to destruction?

May you choose wisely … and remember indecision is indeed a choice.

As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are you on the right race course?

  1. Made me think of something John Calvin wrote concerning this race … ” it is better to limp along this path than to dash with all speed outside it.”

Leave a Reply

