it’s the Great Pumpkin spice … experiment

The aroma of pumpkin spice beckons my taste buds to engage all things with pumpkin flavoring each fall … so Saturday I entered into the Great Pumpkin spice experiment.  The following photo is from my lab …

IMG_7006The equipment: one Keurig Coffee Brewer, one My K-Cup reusable coffee filter and one insulated amazon.com coffee mug,

The ingredients: ground pumpkin spice coffee, International Delight Pumpkin Pie Spice coffee creamer and pumpkin biscotti.  My ingredient supplier … The Fresh Market … more commonly known as TFM.

The first challenge in this experiment … we have always used the pre-prepared and pre-packaged k-cups in our brewer.  But this time I bought a bag of ground coffee and will be using the My K-Cup reusable coffee filter for the first time … basically I am making my own k-cup.

Right out of the gate I sensed a challenge as I read the the instructions for the My K-Cup …

“Remove the K-Cup Holder Assembly from your Brewer.  To do this, first lift the Handle of the Brewer, then grasp the outside housing of the K-Cup Holder Assembly with the thumb and index finger of one hand and push up from below with the index finger of your other hand while holding the housing.”

OK, any instruction that begins with requiring me first to disassemble my appliance … well, to say I am mechanically challenged is an understatement.

But alas … I tightened my lab coat … and successfully removed the K-Cup Holder Assembly … without any buzzer going off. I guess all those years of playing Operation are really beginning to pay off …

And here are the pictures of the My K-Cup assembly I will be replacing it with …

IMG_7008Basically you put 2 tablespoons of ground coffee into the filter basket (right), set the filled filter basket into the filter holder (top left), screw on the lid (bottom center) and then insert this new assembly where you removed the original assembly above. (Note: obviously the picture of these components is showing them upside down.)

It’s time to brew some pumpkin spice coffee!  And surprise … surprise … surprise … everything worked just as theorized and designed!

Of course, to clean up I now basically have to repeat all the steps I just took … in reverse order.  Cleaning the coffee grounds out of the reusable filter basket is a little bit of work … but a minor inconvenience to be sure.

Two benefits I see in making your own k-cups … first, the cost savings is significant over the price of pre-packaged k-cups and second, it opens up your options to an unlimited variety of coffees.

But I digress … on with the experiment.

Now that I have brewed my pumpkin spice coffee, I now add a bit of sugar and some pumpkin pie spice coffee creamer.  I place a piece of pumpkin biscotti on a napkin and head to my home-sweet-home recliner.

Dipping the biscotti into my coffee cup, I truly enjoyed this first-time treat (I had never had biscotti before) along with my delicious cup of pumpkin spice coffee.

Experiment successful … and definitely an experience to be repeated!

Have any special java experiments and/or experiences you would like to share?

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Humor, Recipes & Restaurants, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

