Believe Me … you’ll know!

During the first part of the summer as I was battling with ascities I went through the longest period of time without shaving I have ever experienced.  When I finally started shaving again, I shaped it into a beard (yes, I know … I need to change my profile pic).

All my life I have been a shaving cream and razor blade shave kind of guy … no electric shavers for me.  And I have had a beard many times in my life … and I’ve always kept it trimmed with a comb and scissors.

But this time I invested in a Philips Norelco Cordless Grooming Kit for keeping my beard at a short length … my wife ‘advised’ me there would be no Duck Dynasty beard or anything even remotely resembling one.  As one who has manually trimmed my beard for 40 years, my only question after using a cordless groomer for a couple of months is, ‘Where have you been all my beard growing life?’

When I first got it, I left it plugged in for about 16 hours until it was fully charged.  But my instructions as to when to charge it again was to wait until the battery was completely empty.  I just knew it would give out exactly half-way through a beard trimming …

Well, tonight was the night … and my fear became a self-fulfilling prophecy.  Much to the amusement of my wife I might add …

But as I sat out on the deck waiting for the groomer to get enough of a charge to complete the job I had begun, I came to the realization God had made an appointment with me … it just wan’t in my datebook.

It was a beautiful evening and I had an unobstructed view of the northern sky … a very Carolina blue sky.  As I enjoyed this quiet and peaceful moment, my often dormant imagination began to come to life …

Can you imagine being one of the disciples?  Living with Jesus for the past three years, you have witnessed teachings, miracles and a life beyond human comprehension.  Then Jesus is arrested, crucified and buried and you lose all hope … only to then find the risen Christ!  You have just spent the last 40 days with the resurrected Jesus … and then to top all you have previously seen … Jesus ascends into the sky and disappears into the clouds … WOW!

And I just couldn’t take my eyes off the sky as I considered and imagined …

And after He had said these things, He was lifted up while they were looking on, and a cloud received Him out of their sight.  And as they were gazing intently into the sky while He was going, behold, two men in white clothing stood beside them.  They also said, “Men of Galilee, why do you stand looking into the sky? This Jesus, who has been taken up from you into heaven, will come in just the same way as you have watched Him go into heaven.”  Acts 1:9-11 (NASB)

Then I began considering the angels words to the disciples … of course it didn’t hurt that today’s Bible reading was in Matthew 24 … and I began imagining, in my limited human capacity to do so, the sky as Christ returns … note how Jesus described His return …

“Then if anyone says to you, ‘Behold, here is the Christ,’ or ‘There He is,’ do not believe him.  For false Christs and false prophets will arise and will show great signs and wonders, so as to mislead, if possible, even the elect.  Behold, I have told you in advance.  So if they say to you, ‘Behold, He is in the wilderness,’ do not go out, or, ‘Behold, He is in the inner rooms,’ do not believe them.  For just as the lightning comes from the east and flashes even to the west, so will the coming of the Son of Man be.  Wherever the corpse is, there the vultures will gather.  But immediately after the tribulation of those days the sun will be darkened, and the moon will not give its light, and the stars will fall from the sky, and the powers of the heavens will be shaken. And then the sign of the Son of Man will appear in the sky, and then all the tribes of the earth will mourn, and they will see the Son of Man coming on the clouds of the sky with power and great glory.  And He will send forth His angels with a great trumpet and they will gather together His elect from the four winds, from one end of the sky to the other.  Matthew 24:23-31 (NASB)

Seems to me like Jesus is saying … when I return, it won’t be a limited audience return to another stable … you won’t need to be told by someone else that I’ve come back … My return will fill the sky and will be known to the ends of the earth …

Believe Me … you’ll know!

May we be found ready …

Bernie

P.S. For the curious … yes, 45 minutes later I had enough power in my groomer to finish the beard trim.

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

