Nora Mill Granary … a photoblog

Last week we received our Fall 2013 issue of Northeast Georgia Living magazine and it had a very interesting article about the Nora Mill Granary … a place we used to visit on a regular basis two decades ago.  Originally built in 1876, this still functioning grist mill sits on the banks of the Chattahoochee River just outside of Helen, GA.  So this mill became the destination for a weekend day trip.

IMG_6903Since last we visited they had rebuilt this picturesque mill dam to create the obligatory mill pond needed by virtually all grist mills.

IMG_6892Under this river side observation deck, a 100 foot long mill race or sluice routes the water from the mill pond to be used as a source of power for grinding the corn, wheat, etc.

IMG_6898The water in the mill race/sluice is used to power the water turbine below which subsequently turns the mill stones.  Unlike many river side mills, Nora Mill uses a water turbine instead of an upright water wheel

IMG_6900

IMG_6894In the picture above, hopefully you can make out the outlines of the rainbow trout that congregate below the observation deck and absolutely swarm for the food bits you throw into the river.

The miller, Tommy Martin, was extremely informative and friendly and really seems to enjoy explaining the workings of the mill to kids.  Here he is instructing my grandson Noah on releasing the corn into the hopper to be fed to the millstones for grinding.  If you look closely, you can see the corn coming out of the bottom of the hopper.

IMG_6888In the picture below the miller is showing with his left hand where the ground meal is coming out from between the millstones and being fed through a chute to containers on the lower level.  They are still using the original 1,500 pound French Burr mill stones … WOW!

IMG_6889They have a great country store that sells their products and then some.  Grits are their real claim to fame … Dixie Ice Cream (Yellow Speckled mill ground grits) and Georgia Ice Cream (White mill ground grits).  They had some of the Dixie Ice Cream and Pioneer Porridge cooking in a couple of crock pots for sampling … a good strategy …

IMG_6901We bought a bag of Dixie Ice Cream, a bag of Pioneer Porridge and a small jar of Mayhaw Jelly (ever since that episode of Duck Dynasty that was almost entirely dedicated to making Mayhaw Jelly, I have been wanting to give it a try).

IMG_6902A great place to visit if you’re in the NE Georgia Mountains near Helen, GA!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Places & Activities, Recipes & Restaurants, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nora Mill Granary … a photoblog

  1. jasonlovelace says:

    You’;ve given me some ideas for a vacation trip in the future. Thank you for this good article, Bernie! Remembering you and yours in our prayers…

    • bwebbjr says:

      Glad to hear this post gave you some vacation trip ideas. Thanks for your remembrance in prayers … I am doing fantastic … praise God! Continuing to pray for a break-thru in your circumstances as well Jason … May God be in the midst!

      Bernie

  2. Clyde Ginn says:

    My brother you are in our prayers. I have spent the last 38 or so years visiting the haunts in and around Helen. The Mill holds a special place in my heart as do the Mountains and streams around it. God Speed your recovery my friend.

    Clyde

    • bwebbjr says:

      Nora Mill is indeed a special place Clyde … thanks for the comment and more importantly thanks for the prayers brother … the Lord has been so faithful, loving and generous with me … I am indeed blessed!

Leave a Reply

