pondering ‘Why me?’

I’m looking at this question from a slightly different perspective than you might expect.   When it comes to the question ‘Why me?’ in regards to dealing with cancer and some of the other health issues I have or have had … well, to me that’s just an irrelevant question.  If God Almighty would send His only begotten Son to die on the cross for my sins so that instead of perishing I would have eternal life, then what possible right would I have to question any trials, tribulations or suffering I might encounter in this life? 

In fact, as Paul so wisely writes, our response in the midst of suffering should be:

Rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.  Romans 5:3-5 (ESV)

So suffering is an endurance, character and hope builder … then yes indeed we should rejoice in our sufferings!

No, my pondering of the ‘Why me?’ question is ‘Why would God stop my cancer, give me a break from chemotherapy and restore my strength?’

Obviously it is NOT about anything whatsoever I may have done … there is absolutely NO secret formula to pass on … but WHY, when so many I know are suffering do I get a break?

What shall we say then? Is there injustice on God’s part? By no means!  For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.”   So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy.  Romans 9:14-16 (ESV)

There is no better and clearer answer in Scripture … but then I must ask to what purpose does this touch by God upon my life serve?  I think we find the answer in Jesus’ response to the disciples question regarding the man blind since birth:

Jesus answered, “It was not that this man sinned, or his parents, but that the works of God might be displayed in him.  We must work the works of him who sent me while it is day; night is coming, when no one can work.  As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”  John 9:3-5 (ESV)

The biggest risk I face is moving on in good health and forgetting the Who and why of my blessing …

Oh Lord, thank you for Your healing touch … may my life be a display of Your works IN me and through that display may the world around me see that Christ Jesus is indeed the Light of the world!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to pondering ‘Why me?’

  1. Dick Bowley says:

    Thanks for Blessing me today!

  2. Oh my! What a clear understanding of God’s Word. You are blessing so many, Bernie, with your writing, your faith and your transparency. May God’s grace continue to be abundant as you continue to share your story. Your brother in Christ, Jim.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thank God for His Holy Spirit Who teaches us ALL things … I can only hope and pray that God blesses others as you have written. May God’s grace be abundant in us both brother as we share the great things He has done and is doing IN us.

      Love IN Christ brother … love IN Christ!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

