get into God’s Word and God’s Word will get into you

I recently came across this sentence in a book I am reading by Mark Batterson, “If we get into God’s Word, God’s Word will get into us.”  Note in the following passages what Jesus said:

So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed in him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”  John 8:31-32 (ESV)

Truly, truly, I say to you, if anyone keeps my word, he will never see death.  John 8:51 (ESV)

Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.  John 14:23 (ESV)

If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.  By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples.  John 15:7-8 (ESV)

In this letter to Timothy, note what Paul tells him about the authorship and purpose of Scripture:

But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have firmly believed, knowing from whom you learned it  and how from childhood you have been acquainted with the sacred writings, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.   All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work.  2 Timothy 3:14-17 (ESV)

Recapping,  the purpose of  ALL Scripture and the purpose of abiding in those words of God …

  • You will know the truth and the truth will set you free
  • You will never see death
  • Father God will love you
  • Father and Son will come and make their home with you
  • Your prayers will be according to God’s will
  • You will bear much fruit and prove to be disciples of Jesus
  • Able to make you wise for salvation through faith IN Christ Jesus
  • Profitable for teaching, for reproof, for training in righteousness
  • That the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work

All Scripture is God-breathed … note what God revealed through Peter regarding the role of the Holy Spirit in the authorship of Scripture …

But know this first of all, that no prophecy of Scripture is a matter of one’s own interpretation, for no prophecy was ever made by an act of human will, but men moved by the Holy Spirit spoke from God.  2 Peter 1:20-21 (NASB)

Let me pose a question, “Is there truly anyone better to learn about a book than the book’s author?”

But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you ALL things and bring to your remembrance ALL that I have said to you.  John 14:26 (ESV)

And the sword the Holy Spirit wields is powerful … because it is the word of God!

In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one;  and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God, praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication.  Ephesians 6:16-18 (ESV)

Suddenly I am reading this next passage in a different light …

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.  Hebrews 4:12 (ESV)

In the hands of the Holy Spirit, His sword … the word of God … it will pierce to the division of soul and spirit … discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.  We call that conviction …

Nevertheless, I tell you the truth: it is to your advantage that I go away, for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you. But if I go, I will send him to you.  And when he comes, he will convict the world concerning sin and righteousness and judgment:  concerning sin, because they do not believe in me;  concerning righteousness, because I go to the Father, and you will see me no longer;  concerning judgment, because the ruler of this world is judged.  John 16:7-11 (ESV)

The born-again believer is anointed with the Holy Spirit … and as you abide IN the Holy Spirit and the indwelling presence of the Spirit anoints you, He will teach you about EVERYTHING!

Let what you heard from the beginning abide in you. If what you heard from the beginning abides in you, then you too will abide in the Son and in the Father.  And this is the promise that he made to us—eternal life.  I write these things to you about those who are trying to deceive you.   But the anointing that you received from him abides in you, and you have no need that anyone should teach you. But as his anointing teaches you about EVERYTHING, and is true, and is no lie—just as it has taught you, abide in him.  1 John 2:24-27 (ESV)

Note the four-fold abiding revealed in this passage: the word of God, the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit … these four (along with fifth God’s love) transform and renew us from the inside out … AMAZING!

I don’t know about you, but I need to spend more time IN the word of God.

Teach me Holy Spirit … teach me!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to get into God’s Word and God’s Word will get into you

  1. Dick Bowley says:

    Amen Bernie! Thank you for teaching me. 3 John 2.

  2. bwebbjr says:

    Thank God for teaching us both thru the Holy Spirit, the word of God and our life circumstances. I so appreciate your continued prayers …. God is indeed faithful! Also I continue to review and meditate upon the Words of Life Scriptures you sent me … they are in a small three ring binder.

    Dick, thanks for all you do IN the name of Christ Jesus!

    Bernie

Leave a Reply

