on eagle’s wings … bless the LORD!

Bless the LORD, O my soul!

Bald Eagle

The Lord seems to enjoy using the image of the eagle as a symbol of His strength and might at work …

Bless the LORD, O my soul,
           and all that is within me,
           bless his holy name!

Bless the LORD, O my soul,
           and forget not all his benefits,
          who forgives all your iniquity,
           who heals all your diseases,
          who redeems your life from the pit,
           who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy,
          who satisfies you with good
          so that your youth is renewed LIKE THE EAGLE’S.
Psalm 103:1-5 (ESV)

Yes, the Lord ministers to you in your physical ailments … but more importantly He ministers to your soul spiritually … Bless the LORD, O my soul!

Note the promise the Lord spoke through the prophet Isaiah … and once again the reference to eagles.

Do you not know? Have you not heard?
The Everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth
Does not become weary or tired.
His understanding is inscrutable.
He gives strength to the weary,
And to him who lacks might He increases power.
Though youths grow weary and tired,
And vigorous young men stumble badly,
Yet those who wait for the LORD
Will gain new strength;
They will mount up WITH WINGS LIKE EAGLES,
They will run and not get tired,
They will walk and not become weary.
Isaiah 40:28-31 (NASB)

We all … much like the disciples at Pentecost … must wait upon the Lord and His perfect timing and perfect plan … that is where His strength is revealed.  BTW … while we typically like microwave timing … my experience is that God tends to prefer crock pot timing … just saying.

While God likes that image of the eagle for His strength working through you and me … He even likes it as an image of Himself!

Moses went up to God, and the LORD called to him from the mountain, saying, “Thus you shall say to the house of Jacob and tell the sons of Israel:  ‘You yourselves have seen what I did to the Egyptians, and HOW I BORE YOU ON EAGLES’ WINGS, AND BROUGHT YOU TO MYSELF.  Now then, if you will indeed obey My voice and keep My covenant, then you shall be My own possession among all the peoples, for all the earth is Mine; and you shall be to Me a kingdom of priests and a holy nation.’  Exodus 19:3-6 (NASB)

So why does God set us free from captivity?

First and foremost, so He can bring us unto Himself.  Then His desire is that we obey His voice (note how He did not use the word commands … think about all that implies) and keep His covenant (not our covenant).  THEN we shall be His possession among all peoples and we shall be to HIM (not others) a kingdom of priests and a holy nation.  And this is a truth not only revealed to the Israelites in the Old Testament, but to Christ followers in the New Testament … but the service of the royal priesthood is not simply unto Him, but unto the world around us …

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for God’s own possession, so that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who has called you out of darkness into His marvelous light; for you once were not a people, but now you are the people of God; you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.  1 Peter 2:9-10 (NASB)

So that you may proclaim the excellencies of Him who has called you out of darkness (instead of out of Egypt) and into His marvelous light (rather than the Promised Land).

Obviously great celebration occurs when the Lord rescues you … when the Lord heals you … when the Lord strengthens you.   But once the great celebration has been transformed into daily praise, worship and relationship, the question becomes …

What’s next?

Lord, let the next leg of this journey begin … as I seek the purpose for which You have prepared me and to walk in the good works which You have prepared beforehand (Ephesians 2:10).

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

