BIG NEWS on the BIG 60!

In yesterday’s blog post, I shared a bit of what I would be facing today …

The results are in!  And I am floating on a cloud!

And I really have to say that God has outdone Himself in His good gift helping me celebrate my 60th birthday today!

My CT scan revealed that the cancer lung nodules they have been tracking for the past two years have remained static, if not actually shrunk, over the past 12 weeks with no chemotherapy treatments – PRAISE GOD!

The CT scan also revealed that there has been no further fluid build-up around the liver – also the various liver counts have returned to normal – this despite the lack of any treatment to the liver – so my oncologist is convinced that the liver problems were brought on by 2 years of intense chemo – THANK YOU JESUS!

Based on these results and that conclusion, the oncologist decided I should take another 12 week break from chemo (that will be a total of 24 consecutive weeks without chemo) and then I will have another CT scan to see what the cancer is doing (or perhaps more importantly what God is doing) – in the mean time I will go in once a month to have my port flushed – ALL GLORY TO GOD!

Let me share a bit more good (or more aptly named God) news from my journey IN Christ Jesus over the last six years as a cancer warrior …

  • Six years ago I weighed 265 pounds … today I am a fighting lean 195 pounds or less
  • Eight years ago I was diagnosed with hypertension with blood pressure of 195/139.  Until May of 2013, it was being managed by two blood pressure medicines.  In May, I stopped taking the hypertension medicine.  My blood pressure this summer … consistently in the 110-120/70-80 range
  • Seven years ago I was struggling with gout … initially we treated it as it occurred with Indomethacin … but it eventually occurred so consistently I went on a daily dose of Allopurinol.  Stopped taking it in May this year … not a gout flare-up or incident since.

So you might ask “What’s my point?’

There is a saying and I think it goes something like this “What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger!”

In the midst of our circumstances, any circumstances, we never really know what God is working and accomplishing in our lives.  But we must trust Him in those circumstances and cling to the hope we have IN Christ Jesus!

Note how Paul describes the process and product of suffering …

Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God.  More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.  Romans 5:1-5 (ESV)

I wish I could say I embraced those truths throughout the suffering I have endured so far.  I wish I could say my faith never faltered.  But to say so on either count would be a lie … I have struggled … you have read of those struggles here.  But God … and God alone … has carried me through those struggles and in His own way has increased my faith and made me stronger IN Him as a result.  And for that I am extremely grateful!

Don’t misunderstand me … there remain many miles in the journey and I continue to be a work in progress for the Divine Potter.  But in the miles already traveled, God is revealing Himself and working IN me.

Thanks for all your prayers, love and concern – please join me in praising and thanking God for these exciting results!

Your brother IN Christ Jesus!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to BIG NEWS on the BIG 60!

  1. jasonlovelace says:

    I am encouraged by this post, brother!!! Thank you, and thank GOD that he speaks through you!!! We will keep on praying!!!!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thank God indeed … and there is no doubt this is an answer to many prayers being lifted on my behalf … including yours … so thank you for lifting me up to the Lord God Almighty!

      He is faithful Jason … He is faithful!

      Bernie

  2. So glad for you and your family Bernie! Praise be to God for His infinite goodness.

  3. savedbygrace says:

    hey bro..

    even just the sheer strength you are showing is good enough to encourage us.

    now with the reality that it was God’s strength all along being with you, makes it even more interesting.

    we know you will not fail because God never fails, you will not sleep because God never slumbers.

    – grace and peace

    • bwebbjr says:

      Yes indeed … all along it was and will continue to be God’s strength IN me that carries and sustains me.

      May you and yours be blessed IN Christ Jesus and His love!

      Bernie

  4. judikruis says:

    I am late to the praise party Bernie but so glad to catch up with the details!!! And so appreciative of your sharing as we’ve walked mom through her victories this year too. God never leaves or forsakes and is ever present. We thank Him for such great news and for MORE good things to come your way! (good to be back to reading here!)

Leave a Reply

