enjoying our KEURIG …

IMG_6807

In November or December of 2012 my wife and I finally broke down and joined the masses who have invested in a Keurig Brewer … and I have to say I am really enjoying it (my wife on the other hand has become a regular … and I do mean regular … customer of the local Starbucks for the Venti White Mocha Frappucino.  Consequently she rarely uses the Keurig any more … her loss is my gain.)

BTW … a word of warning to all you rookie Kuerig owners out there (and this is the voice of experience), the temptation will be strong to buy and try all kinds of K-cups to see what you like … but don’t do it.  You’ll just end up with a whole bunch of K-cups (since they typically come in 12, 14, 16, 20 and 24 count boxes) in the pantry or cabinet you will never use.  Take advantage of trying the variety in the sample box that typically comes with most Kuerigs … and ask some of your fellow Kuerig owners if you can try some of their favorites.  Also, there are a few companies out there that sell 3-packs of K-cups … just so you can sample before you invest.

Any fellow Keurig owners/fans out there?

My favorite coffee K-cups (and I’m becoming a bit of an Arabica coffee fan) include:

  • Newman’s Own – Newman’s Special Blend
  • Green Mountain Coffee – Nantucket Blend
  • Folger’s Gourmet  – Black Silk
  • Eight O’Clock – Original Blend
  • (And Dunkin Donuts – Original Blend is on my radar … but next to impossible to catch on sale)

Typically I drink my coffee with cream and sugar … once you have cancer, warning lights go off when you get anywhere near artificial sweeteners, even though some are indeed problem free.  For creamer, I enjoy Bailey’s Caramel Coffee Creamer … also the little individual creamers based on candy bars.  In the picture above you can see some Heath Bar and York Peppermint Patty creamers in the creamer bowl.

Note: I have tried some of the K-cups advertized specifically for iced coffee … also some of the instructions on how to make iced coffee from regular K-cups … in each case, my best efforts have failed.  So for now I rely on visits to Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks and McDonalds for my Caramel Iced Coffee.

How do you drink your coffee?

What are your favorite coffee K-cups?

Also, I usually use the 8 ounce setting when brewing coffee with my Keurig and finding a travel mug for just 8 ounces of coffee is pretty much next to impossible … most all the travel mugs are made for the big and hardy coffee drinker.  But one day I was walking by the Starbucks in the local Target and spotted a travel mug specifically made for the 8 oz coffee drinker.  It’s white ceramic, with a green rubber grip and a perfect size sipper slot for drinking your coffee on the run (see in the picture above).

As you can see above, we have chosen to store a variety of our K-cups (that aren’t in the pantry) in the carousel on the counter.

How do you store your K-cups?

From a tea perspective, I am a big fan of Tazo Zen Green Tea Blend (even before K-cups) … I usually add a little honey and lemon juice to this hot tea.

And for those cool fall and winter days where late in the day you want a hot drink but not necessarily the caffeine that will keep you awake all night, we also have a few favorites.

  • Green Mountain Naturals – Hot Apple Cider
  • Café Escapes – Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa (I like to fill up the top of the cup with Reddi-wip)
  • Café Escapes – Café Caramel  (Once again … topped off with Reddi-Wip)

Do you have any fall/winter favorites you like to brew in your Keurig?

And that just about sums up my Keurig experience … thanks for reading about it … hopefully commenting on your own experience!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Recipes & Restaurants, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

