a life worthy of the Lord

Came across this extremely loaded and insightful passage of Scripture today during my devotional reading.

For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you  to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light.  Colossians 1:9-12 (NIV)

Let’s look at what others are doing on your behalf that you might live a life worthy of the Lord and please Him in EVERY way:

  • Your brothers and sisters IN Christ are continually praying for you (James wrote that we are to confess to one another and pray for one another – James 5:16).
  • They are asking God to fill you with the knowledge of His will through ALL the wisdom and understanding that the Holy Spirit provides (Remember that the disciples did not truly understand until the power of the Holy Spirit came upon them in Jerusalem at Pentecost – Acts 1:8)
  • God the Father has qualified you to share in the inheritance of His holy people in the kingdom of light (Don’t forget:  it is also God who is at work IN you both to will and work for His good pleasure – basically to live a life worthy of the Lord – Philippians 2:13)

Now let’s look at the characteristics of a life worthy of God revealed in this passage:

  • Such a life pleases God in EVERY way (Remember without faith is impossible to please God – Hebrews 11:6).
  • We are bearing fruit in EVERY good work (Note that the wisdom from above is full of good fruits – James 3:17.  Also he who abides IN Jesus the Vine bears much fruit – John 15:5).
  • We are growing IN the knowledge of God (Consider 1 Corinthians 2 regarding the revelation of the Holy Spirit and the mind of Christ).
  • We are being strengthened will ALL power according to God’s glorious might (The power that works within us – Ephesians 3:14-21)
  • As a result of God’s power, we have great endurance and patience (By endurance you gain eternal life – Luke 21:19 and patience is just one dimension of fruit of the Spirit – Galatians 5:22-23).
  • We are giving joyful thanks to God the Father (Remember this includes giving thanks in all circumstances – 1 Thessalonians 5:18).

Oh Lord, help me to be a concerned brother who continually prays for the needs of my brothers and sisters IN Christ!

And please work IN me Father to live a life that is both worthy of You and pleasing to You!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a life worthy of the Lord

  1. jasonlovelace says:

    Well said, brother Bernie! And we continue to have you in our prayers! Be blessed and remember yu are greatly loved (by GOD first and then us!)….

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks Jason … and my thanks to you and all in your circle of fellowship who continue to pray for me … and God does indeed bless me everyday! I feel the love brother … I feel the love!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

