God will not forsake you or me

The Lord continues to speak to me through the praise and worship music at church on Sunday mornings.  Today I heard Him loud and clear as we sang the song “Not For A Moment (After All)”, a Meredith Andrews song.  Check out the lyrics below …

Not For A Moment (After All)

[Verse 1]
You were reaching through the storm
Walking on the water
Even when I could not see
In the middle of it all
When I thought You were a thousand miles away
Not for a moment did You forsake me
Not for a moment did You forsake me

[Chorus]
After all You are constant
After all You are only good
After all You are sovereign
Not for a moment will You forsake me
Not for a moment will You forsake me

[Verse 2]
You were singing in the dark
Whispering Your promise
Even when I could not hear
I was held in Your arms
Carried for a thousand miles to show
Not for a moment did You forsake me

[Chorus]

And every step every breath you are there
Every tear every cry every prayer
In my hurt at my worst
When my world falls down
Not for a moment will You forsake me
Even in the dark
Even when it’s hard
You will never leave me
After all

[Chorus]
Not for a moment will You forsake me

As I mentioned in the last post, hindsight is 20/20.  And I truly believe that now I am going through a leg of my faith and spiritual journey where God wants me to consider what I have learned in this recent ordeal and He is revealing the lessons to be learned through the Holy Spirit and the Holy Scripture.

There are three points I sense Him revealing in the midst of the above song:

  • In the midst of my storms and trials, Jesus is also in the midst … carrying me.
  • Jesus will never leave or forsake me.
  • God is sovereign.

Jesus carries me in the midst of my storms and trials … in the midst of my burdens … it is the law of Christ.

Bear one another’s burdens, and thereby fulfill the law of Christ.  Galatians 6:2 (NASB)

Jesus will never leave or forsake me.

Make sure that your character is free from the love of money, being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you,” so that we confidently say, “The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid. “ Hebrews 13:5-6 (NASB)

God is sovereign … in ALL things at ALL times.  This is something I frequently forget in the midst of trials.  Consider this paragraph from Theopedia:

“The Sovereignty of God is the biblical teaching that all things are under God’s rule and control, and that nothing happens without His direction or permission. God works not just some things but all things according to the counsel of His own will (see Eph. 1:11). His purposes are all-inclusive and never thwarted (see Isa. 46:11); nothing takes Him by surprise. The sovereignty of God is not merely that God has the power and right to govern all things, but that He does so, always and without exception. In other words, God is not merely sovereign de jure (in principle), but sovereign de facto (in practice).”

Consider Romans 8:26-28 …

In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words; and He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.  And we know that God causes ALL things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

Thank you Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God will not forsake you or me

  1. I can’t tell you what a difference a biblical understanding of grace made in my life. I grew up in church and was a pastor for more than 20 years before I truly began to grasp the meaning of grace. It wasn’t some far-off intellectual idea, nor a commonly assumed emotional tingle, but an understood and lived reality. The enormity of grace, never again thinking I have to try to (or could) please God by my works or attempts to follow or be good. Grace, forever greater than all of my sin – past, present and future.

    Well, the idea of God’s sovereignty is the same revelation. What a place of rest for the wearied soul! To know and trust that nothing happens outside the pre-set boundaries and watchful and caring eyes of the Almighty God’s will. He is the Potter; I am the clay. He is God; I am human. I am the weak, flawed, broken sinner who can’t even control my cat, a paper cut, or will my toothache to flee; He is the Sovereign … and I am gladly at ease in Him.

    I love you, brother. Keep the faith. He will never leave you or let you down, either side of eternity! (Rom 10:11).

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for your incredible testimony and teaching in this comment brother … seems more worthy of being a blog post than a comment. The Lord is always using you to encourage me… your love and prayers mean so much!

      Your brother IN Christ Jesus!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

