Jesus will give you rest from your burdens

Burdens …

Jesus knows we are heavy laden with burdens.  He called out the Pharisees on their role in laying heavy burdens on men’s shoulders.

“The scribes and the Pharisees have seated themselves in the chair of Moses; therefore all that they tell you, do and observe, but do not do according to their deeds; for they say things and do not do them.  They tie up heavy burdens and lay them on men’s shoulders, but they themselves are unwilling to move them with so much as a finger.”  Matthew 23:2-4 (NIV)

The world places burdens on us.

We place burdens on ourselves.

Health concerns can become burdens.

The list of forces that lay burdens on mankind is almost endless.

The good news:  Jesus is concerned with mankind being heavy laden with burdens and wants to give us rest.

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.  Matthew 11:29 (NASB)

Jesus will gladly bear our burdens … if we will simply bring those burdens to Him … and stop reclaiming them as our own.  And He will give you rest.  In fact, Scripture reveals that bearing another’s burdens is the law of Christ.

Bear one another’s burdens, and thereby fulfill the law of Christ.  Galatians 6:2 (NASB)

Note what Jesus promises to those who come to Him that are weary and heavy laden …

“Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”  Matthew 11:29-30 (NASB)

Oh Lord, my soul needs the rest that only You can provide!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jesus will give you rest from your burdens

  1. jasonlovelace says:

    Praying for you, Brother Bernie!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks Jason … your concern and prayers are so greatly appreciated!

      • jasonlovelace says:

        Keep us in your prayers, Bernie. Please. We went to a family reunion this past weekend and my Dad was sick and hurting. He was trying to hide it, but he didn’t do a very good job. Please pray for him and us. Sorry to be a burden.

      • bwebbjr says:

        Yes Jason, I will certainly keep your father in my prayers. Hopefully it is something temporary that he can recover from quickly. Please keep me posted.

        May God bless you and yours brother!

        Bernie

Leave a Reply

