be anxious for nothing

In the last post I shared how instead of casting my anxieties on God I chose to obsess over the burdens in my life.  I obsessed over them until I grew distant from Christ and experienced the weakness that comes from growing apart from Christ.

Casting your anxieties on God … while sounding quite simple … can nevertheless be quite a challenge.   Oftentimes … quite illogically … we tend to be quite possessive of our problems … sometimes to the point of becoming withdrawn.

Despite how challenging it may sometimes seem, Paul raises the stakes substantially for a believer in dealing with anxiety in his letter to the Philippians … consider:

Rejoice IN the Lord ALWAYS; again I will say, rejoice!
Let your gentle spirit be known to all men. The Lord is near.
Be anxious for NOTHING, but in EVERYTHING by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.
And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds IN Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:4-7 (NASB)

Rejoice IN the Lord ALWAYS … not just in the good times … but in the midst of trials and tribulation … rejoice IN the Lord in the midst of cancer … or whatever problem you may be in the midst of.

Be anxious for NOTHING … even in the midst of things you don’t understand … be it ascities or potential liver problems … or whatever potential problem you may be facing.

In EVERYTHING by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  OK, no doubt most of us get lifting everything to God by prayer and supplication … but there’s a catch … with thanksgiving.  In the midst of fighting cancer, in dealing with a colostomy bag, in struggling with ascities, with potential liver problems ahead … I am to pray with thanksgiving.

How is that possible?  In my own strength, it is totally and completely impossible.  But with God ALL things are possible.  And Jesus said, “ALL things are possible to him who believes.”  Mark 9:23 (NASB)  And in the passage above Paul wrote, “The Lord is near.”

And what is the result in dealing with your anxieties as Paul taught …

And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds IN Christ Jesus.

I don’t know about you … but I want … no, I need … the peace of God that surpasses all comprehension … I need the peace of God that will guard my heart and my mind IN Christ Jesus.

I am so thankful that the Lord is right here in the midst of my anxieties.

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to be anxious for nothing

  1. RhondaKrill says:

    I just wrote this, today, on One Christian Voice’s Facebook wall. Draw near to the Lord and know His strength: You who are far off hear what I have done; you who are near, know my strength. Isaiah 33:13…and then discovered your post. May God’s love strengthen you today.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving this comment Rhonda … I am encouraged by Isaiah 33:13 and God’s love is strengthening me bit by bit as I turn to Him in faith!

Leave a Reply

