timely and inspiring words from Tim Tebow

Just finished reading the book Through My Eyes by Tim Tebow and Nathan Whitaker. I am impressed by both the great faith and great determination of Tim Tebow in all that he does as revealed through this book and his personal testimony.

This biography covers his life from childhood through his football and faith exploits in high school, as a Florida Gator and finally in his first year as a NFL quarterback for the Denver Broncos. I highly recommend it … especially for the football player or fan walking in the midst of a life of faith.

As I finished reading the book on Wednesday, I came across these two inspiring and thought provoking paragraphs.

I dealt with the uncertainty the way I’ve always tried to: I don’t know what the future holds, but I know who holds my future. That’s what gives me hope and peace and is what I lean on, because each day is going to have enough trouble of its own. That’s why we don’t need to look to tomorrow; we need to worry about today and look to Him as He guides and directs our day. What can we do today that will have eternal consequences not only then but now; how can we affect people in a positive way today; what are the right decisions we can make today? I know no matter what happens, there’s a plan for it, and even though we don’t always understand it all and why things happen the way they do, I know that one day it will all make sense as part of God’s eternal plan for all our lives. Even if it doesn’t turn out the way I hope, it will be disappointing but I’ll be all right, because God never stops loving me, or you. And God will use every one of those things – some which may seem good and some bad to you at the time – in His overall plan for your life and mine.”

Just because something bad happens doesn’t mean that He stopped caring about you or that He stopped being sovereign. Those things are simply part of His plan that we’ll never understand here on earth, like trying to understand the Trinity – the truth of God’s existing in three persons: Father, Son and Holy Spirit. I’m just never going to fully understand it. That’s where faith comes in. It’s not knowing about tomorrow, but it’s knowing that I have a God who loves me and is going to keep me in His plans and safe in His hands through those coming days without my even knowing what’s going to happen. It gives me great comfort to know that God is not only with me and carrying me when I need to be carried but, already waiting for me in my tomorrow. Now what is there for me to worry about with God already there to care and lay out the plan for me?”

The timing of reading these words couldn’t have been any better …

I had just returned from the oncologist where once again my platelet counts were too low to receive chemotherapy … and I was feeling very frustrated and out of control. Number one there is a real mental preparation that goes into getting psyched up for what you’re about to go through with chemotherapy. Number two you end up scheduling both work and personal activities around the chemo schedule.

When chemo doesn’t go as scheduled … you feel even more out of control than you already feel as a cancer warrior most of the time …

And Tim Tebow’s words above reminded me of a number of aspects of faith that I have held so tightly, so close and so dear in the first 15-16 months of my chemotherapy that I seem to be letting slip from my grasp over the last few months … I seem to be slipping from the rock and into the surrounding sand. The Lord is holding me tightly but my hold is not quite as reciprocal.

Thank you Lord for bringing me to these inspiring words written by one of your faithful servants!

Help me to relinquish the need for control I have developed and increase my trust, my faith IN You for all my circumstances – both today and tomorrow.

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Books, Movies & Music, Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to timely and inspiring words from Tim Tebow

  1. Glenda says:

    Hang in there, Bernie! I know it gets hard. You’ve encouraged me many times. I’ve been feeling a bit at loose ends myself. I know God has strength for me, but I don’t know how to take hold of it. I’m learning. It’s ok to get Lowe sometimes. That gives God a chance to lift us higher, I guess.
    I’m sorry you have to go thru this, but I’m glad to have someone like you in the fight with me. It’s encouraging. YOU are encouraging.

    Hope things straighten out for you quick. 🙂

  2. jasonlovelace says:

    Bernie, I know what you are going through in a different sorta’ way: my contract wasn’t renewed and I am currently out of a job after a meeting on the 20th of May with the Top Three of the institute where I was teaching. Know that I am praying for you, brother, and prayed as I read this update and article. I find it hard to hold on to his hand sometimes, myself, especially after being let go for no other reason than I did my job. I saw it coming back when they put me under supervision on April 1st, knew what the end result would be, prepared as best I could…yet there is still a lot of disappointment.

    Remember that you are greatly loved and that you are in the center of my prayers and thoughts, brother!

    –Jason

  3. jasonlovelace says:

    Reblogged this on End Times Commentary and commented:
    This Sums Up a LOT of what I’ve been walking through and going through with the loss of my job and the subsequent disappointment of such. Yet the words that Brother Bernie writes about and quotes here in this article that is being reblogged are absolutely true and right! It is my hope that you get as much out of them as I do!
    Blessings
    —-Jason, End Times Commentary

  4. Dick Bowley says:

    Praying for you this morning Bernie.

  5. robertleere says:

    Dear Brother Bernie,

    I just want to say just hang in there bro. I stand with you on the edge of your territory and agree in prayer that God will expand your territory so that in good health you may be used by god to be HIS beacon of light that others may see in darkness. Yes Lord and in agreement I also pray for a NEW DAY of strength and FRESHNESS that blesses all those you come in contact with. We know valleys are temporary and it is God’s will for us to be marching up mount ZION being more and more blessed with each step we take.

    As far as a personal testimony I have an interesting one that might encourage you or encourage others that read. I do not know if I told you but I had some horrible misdiagnosed health problems-diabetes and was taking 8 shots a day which started summer 2009 which was going on since about 2005. I kept gaining weight, falling down, hungry all the time and the doctors would just never give me much time trying to figure it out. They would always just say general things like lose weight, exercise etcetera etcetera. My family lost everything because we were living in a 3500 sf house in Richmond Virginia. We sold my successful carpet cleaning business which was used to pay the bills and the mortgage. At the same time the real estate market collapsed and we had to pull $75,000 out of our pockets just to sell the house and break even, $75,000 we did not have.
    When I sold my carpet cleaning business for $33,000 we just assumed we could sell the house and I couldn’t get my wife and daughter to change their lifestyle easily so they just kept spending the way we had been assuming we could sell the house, in 2005. Our mortgage payment was $1,675 monthly. We were almost broke when the market collapsed and we concluded we would have to pull $75,000 just to walk away with nothing in our pockets. This was after making mortgage payments on two different houses for about twelve years.
    Right around the same time in 2005 I was praying for God to minister to my daughter. She was 10 years old at the time and had ever since we had moved to this nicer neighborhood started hanging out with the wrong kids and just socializing too much. She was going to a school with 135 kids in her class. My wife bought her a cell phone and let her get a laptop and she was online all against my wishes. But I watched her closely and she was caught not only stealing $100 from her Mom’s purse but was in contact with what she thought was a boy in her class but was really a 28 year old man in Florida that was trying to get her to meet him at the mall.
    Well, we nipped that in the butt, took away her cell phone and computer and DADDY became the bad guy since Mother was always pushing for her to have these things. This was in 2005. I got really discouraged and was concerned even for her very salvation and so I prayed and asked God to remove all the wealth we had because it seemed to be dividing the family. Everyone was always so busy never spending time together. I never remembered this until years later, but I remember asking God to take it all away. Well that is exactly what happened, we lost everything.
    I wrote an article about this very thing. You might remember it Bernie, I called it “Leaving Babylon,” I think you read it right before you left Xanga. It was horrible. I sold the carpet cleaning business that had supported my family easily comfortably about ten years and then suddenly we had nothing. Because of my health I kept falling down for no reason, couldn’t sleep at night, felt numbness and tingling in my bottom legs, trouble walking. To me I just thought it was old age which is what my wife thought also. She said your too old to do carpet cleaning,…sell the business which I did. Then we could sell the house and couldn’t even put groceries on the table. Soon were buying groceries on credit cards, making mortgage payments with cash from the 2nd mortgage and this went on until November 2007 with constantly trying to find jobs, any jobs to no success. I would pick up little jobs here and there but nothing that would make any dent into our situation. My wife wanted to stay in the house to the very end but I felt it was time to give the key back to the bank and moved to a better area to start over. Richmond was not a good town to be poor and in the poor areas people were mostly African American hip hop culture. I kept having visions of my daughter rapping and wearing her baseball cap backwards after us starting over in poor areas of Richmond.
    So I convinced my wife to move and start over in Herman Minnesota, a town of 460 people, West Central Minnesota 30 miles from the borders of both North and South Dakota. We took what little money we had, packed our extensive belongings from our 3500 sf house into a huge Uhaul and drove here with my wife and daughter following in the car, November of 2000. I had done some research and came out here 2 weeks prior to check out the town and the apartment. There was a storage to rent place right across the street. for all our stuff and we were so broke we moved into a 1 bedroom apartment for all 3 of us because our future was so uncertain. Well there is a good story to this and that is why I am telling you this.
    My wife and I just closed on a deal where we traded a commercial building we picked up for $5,000 and we traded it for another commercial building plus a 3 bedroom house with no mortgage on either. My wife ran a newspaper ad in 2011 in this little ole town of Herman, “Local Herman Artists seeks house or commercial building to uses as art studio” with her phone number. She has a Master degree in textile art and is an artist. To make a long story short she received a phone call from the local “Herman Bank Owner,” the only bank in town saying he had a building 16,000 sf that he had been trying to sell for more than about 3 years and just wanted to get the building off his name because another building it was attached to had a bad roof that was leaking badly with water damage. So if we took the one building for the $5,000 he would give the other building attached to it for free and the lot next to that. free also. Being I was a roofer in my earlier days I new how to repair the roof on the bad building for about a cost of $1,000. It turned out this banker had been trying to sell these properties as a package deal of around $35,000 and was very frustrated with all the locals that kept lowballing him. He sold it to my wife for $5,000. About 6 months ago my wife and I were getting frustrated with living in an apartment and felt stuck so she put her buildings up for sale for $33,500 with the idea we could buy a house and build a studio on the land with the money. We both love this little town and feel it is like Mayberry RFD with Andy Griffith. It turns out that there were some wealthy people that wanted the buildings in town and we just finished closing on a deal were someone else in town traded us a 2,600 sf building and smaller but not too small 14oo sf cape cod house, both with no mortgages, the building on Main Street down town and newly remodeled and the house in move in condition with a couple little minor things that need to be repaired.
    Now get this: My daughter just graduated high school about a week ago in a class of 8. Yes, you heard that right, 8. But in the state of Minnesota she excelled in school after all her socializing at Richmond schools and was getting straight ‘s from about 8th grade on and here’s the kicker: She entered what is called the PSEO program for Minnesota where if a child in in the upper 5% of their class the state of Minnesota allows them to take college classes paid by the State. So all last year while she was only 17 years old she lived on campus at Bemidji University attending college paid by the State of Minnesota. she made the Dean’s list the entire year and at her graduation of High School had almost 2 years of college with no school loans, nothing. We are packing right now to move into our new house with no mortgage and my wife is also packing all her art work and studio work to move to the new building with no mortgage.
    Now my health praise report: They misdiagnosed me diabetes summer of 2009 and told me I had diabetes for about 10 years at that point. I did research online and seen that many off the symptoms of being low T and diabetes were the same; gaining weight, difficulty sleeping at night, always constipated, difficulty getting around and walking, pain in joints I mean it goes on and on. After pestering my Doctors to check my testosterone (many times) finally one of the tests came in not only low but really really low at 69 and normal was 400 to 1000 for my age. The doctor did not want to prescribe any testosterone supplement because he was worried about side effects and that is when I looked him in the eye and said “You have got to be kidding. I am taking 8 shots a day of insulin and your not worried about side effects from insulin?” Finally he let me try the Androgel. It was like a switch was turned on and all my organs just started working at the same time. Everything. After only eating small meals I would feel full right away. No joint pain. No difficulty walking. Nothing. I started sleeping much deeper and dreaming again. My Pancreas started working right away and I started having low blood sugar reactions and had to start decreasing insulin by large amounts. At first my Doctor argued with me claiming if anything the Androgel should make me require more, not less insulin. But soon even he couldn’t deny the benefits of the Androgel. Within 4 weeks I went from 8 shots daily down to not only one shot but a very small evening shot and even some days I do not even need that. So the other day I was thinking and counting the years. It was like about 7 years of tribulation. For when my daughter got into Bemidji University in the PSEO program last year August was about when things started turning around for us. Now we have a house, no mortgage. Now we have a commercial building, no mortgage. We both work very part time-ish, that’s it. We have left Babylon behind, we have left the materialism we had fallen to. Sometimes we see the valleys so we can appreciate being on the mountaintop. We had about seven years of bad from 2005 to 2012 but now the light is creeping back into our lives. We kept our faith through all this. Our family unit strengthened spiritually. We all seek the Lord way more than we did when we were in that huge house (at least they do more, I am about the same). Adversity was actually good for them, stressful but good. They both lean on God more than they ever did. And that is good, right?
    God Bless,
    Brother RobertLeeRE

Leave a Reply

