fond memories of sinful moments

Now there’s a blog title that is sure to pique Christian curiosity …

From the get go, let me boldly say this is not something I in anyway am advocating … it is absolutely counter Christ …

Nevertheless, in the midst of a silent six hour drive yesterday I sensed the Lord revealing to me that in my mind I am frequently returning to some sinful moments throughout my nearly sixty years and remembering them with fondness … and I need to look upon my sin – past, present and future – through the eyes of Jesus, through the blood of Jesus and through the work of the cross.  I need to see sin as God sees sin.

Repent therefore, and turn again, that your sins may be blotted out,that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord, and that he may send the Christ appointed for you, Jesus,whom heaven must receive until the time for restoring all the things about which God spoke by the mouth of his holy prophets long ago.  Acts 3:19-20 (ESV)

Don’t misunderstand … through the blood of Christ my sins – past, present and future – are blotted out.  There is nothing I can do to blot them out.  But I do believe … that when in my memory I revisit sinful moments of my life without a true disdain for that sin, I am hindering the refreshing that the Lord longs to give through His presence.

Repentance means that one makes a 180 degree turn … a turn away from sin and a turn to God.  Quite frequently we often teach it is more important to turn from sin … but quite frankly if you don’t turn to God first, there is no hope of turning from sin.  Lord, help me truly repent of my past sins!!!

It seems like this next verse reveals Paul’s concern with how a believer deals with sins of the past …

I fear that when I come again my God may humble me before you, and I may have to mourn over many of those who sinned earlier and have not repented of the impurity, sexual immorality, and sensuality that they have practiced.  2 Corinthians 12:21 (ESV)

Sometimes we simply equate repentance with a forgiveness of sins and a battle with future sin … but I believe what the Lord desires is so much deeper than that and should impact our entire attitude toward sin – past, present and future.

Paul was very aware of the dilemma we are faced with …

For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin.  For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate.  Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good.  So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me.   For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out.   For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.   Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me.  So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand.   For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being,   but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members.   Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?   Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.  Romans 7:14-35 (ESV)

Lord, give me a divine hatred of sin. 

And thanks be to God for my deliverance through Jesus Christ our Lord indeed!

I take comfort in this victory promise and the work of Christ …

Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ has been born of God, and everyone who loves the Father loves whoever has been born of him.  By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God and obey his commandments.  For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome.  For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith.  Who is it that overcomes the world except the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?  1 John 5:1-5 (ESV)

Author and Perfector of faith … give me a heart of true repentance and strengthen my faith, strengthen my faith Lord!

Your prayers appreciated!!!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

