a promise fulfilling Heir, house and more

In first century teaching and preaching, the apostles frequently revealed how Christ Jesus fulfilled the promises and prophecies of what we now know as the Old Testament.  The Hebrew of the first century was oftentimes very familiar with those promises and prophecies and was anxious to see them fulfilled, especially while Israel was under Roman rule.  We don’t really experience a great deal of teaching and preaching of that sort today … but I have to admit my faith is strengthened as I see how God fulfilled His promises and prophecies made hundreds if not thousands of years before the birth of Christ.  It is just another confirmation of God’s omniscience and omnipotence

Today’s lunchtime Bible reading had me in the book of 2 Samuel chapter 7.  King David was now living in a house of cedar and was troubled by the fact that the ark of the covenant took up residence in a tent …

Now when the king lived in his house and the LORD had given him rest from all his surrounding enemies,  the king said to Nathan the prophet, “See now, I dwell in a house of cedar, but the ark of God dwells in a tent.”  vs. 1-2

David wanted to build a house for the ark of God but in the following conversation that God had with the prophet Nathan He revealed that was not His desire or will.  Then God revealed His plan through a promise to Nathan …

And I will appoint a PLACE for my people Israel and will plant them, so that they may dwell in their own PLACE and be disturbed no more. And violent men shall afflict them no more, as formerly, from the time that I appointed judges over my people Israel. And I will give you rest from all your enemies. Moreover, the LORD declares to you that the LORD will make you a HOUSE.  When your days are fulfilled and you lie down with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring after you, who shall come from your body, and I will establish his KINGDOM.   He shall build a HOUSE FOR MY NAME, and I will establish the THRONE OF HIS KINGDOM FOREVER.   I will be to him a FATHER, and he shall be to me a SON. When he commits iniquity, I will discipline him with the rod of men, with the stripes of the sons of men,but my steadfast love will not depart from him, as I took it from Saul, whom I put away from before you.  And your house and your kingdom shall be made sure forever before me. Your throne shall be established FOREVER.'”  vs. 10-16

In my mind, based on how it is described in the first two sentences the word PLACE seems to be pointing to heaven or New Jerusalem.  (Note: Throughout the passage above pay close attention to the use of the word FOREVER and consider what that reveals.)

Then the Lord declares he will make David a HOUSE … the house of David?  Note this passage from Luke …

In the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth,  to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, OF THE HOUSE OF DAVID. And the virgin’s name was Mary.  Luke 1:26-27 (ESV)

Regarding the word KINGDOM, there are over 150 references in the New Testament, with 90 plus percent of those referring to the kingdom of God or kingdom of heaven.

‘He shall build a HOUSE FOR MY NAME’ … consider the following:

 So then you are no longer strangers and aliens, but you are fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God, built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Christ Jesus himself being the cornerstone,IN whom the whole structure, being joined together, grows into a holy temple in the Lord.  IN him you also are being built together into a dwelling place for God by the Spirit.  Ephesians 2:19-22 (ESV)

The following four verses are packed with the evidence of God’s promise to David being fulfilled … THRONE OF HIS KINGDOM, FATHER, SON, HOUSE of David, KINGDOM, FOREVER … check it out.

And the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God.  And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus.  He will be great and will be called the SON OF THE MOST HIGH. And the Lord God will give to him the THRONE OF HIS FATHER DAVID,and he will reign over the house of Jacob FOREVER, and of his KINGDOM there will be NO END.”  Luke 1:30-33 (ESV)

Thank you Father for promises fulfilled!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a promise fulfilling Heir, house and more

  1. Bernie, this is fantastic! What a post to meditate on. Thank you for sharing. You have blessed me tonight. God bless

    • bwebbjr says:

      You are welcome Steven … glad to hear the Lord is using this post to encourage you in your walk with Him!

      Abide IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

