suffering from salvational amnesia

Salvational amnesia?  Let me describe what I mean.

Salvational amnesia is a condition in which a believer has forgotten from where they came and how they actually became a child of God.  One of the side effects of salvational amnesia is the failure to share the account of what God has done for, IN and through you with those who need to travel through the same narrow gate and down the same narrow path that Jesus is leading you and desires to lead them.

Salvational amnesia can be about both about selfishness aka pride and about self-righteousness aka works (although that’s not always the case).

Those believers who are being saved typically have a passion for sharing with others the mercy, grace, love and gospel of Christ Jesus they have received … the absence of such a passion could suggest a faith and/or fruit issue … remember this is all about self-examination and seeing what Christ is doing IN and through you and how you are responding to His works.

Recently I came across some Scripture that could help me overcome my salvational amnesia … check it out and see what you think …

And you were DEAD in the TRESPASSES and SINS in which you ONCE WALKED, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience—among whom WE ALL ONCE LIVED in the passions of our FLESH, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature CHILDREN OF WRATH, like the rest of mankind.  (BW – how’s that for a reminder of from where I came?)

But God, being RICH IN MERCY, because of THE GREAT LOVE with which HE LOVED US, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us ALIVE TOGETHER WITH CHRIST—BY GRACE YOU HAVE BEEN SAVED— … For by grace you have been saved through faith. And THIS IS NOT YOUR OWN DOING; IT IS THE GIFT OF GOD, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.  For WE ARE HIS WORKMANSHIP, created IN Christ Jesus for good works, WHICH GOD PREPARED BEFOREHAND, that we should walk in them.  (BW – how’s that for a reminder of how I became a child of God?) Ephesians 2:1-5,8-10 (ESV)

Think I need to commit this passage of Scripture to heart Lord …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to suffering from salvational amnesia

  1. We preach Jesus. And what does His name mean? Salvation is of the Lord (Jonah 2:9; Rev 7:10). Salvation, from beginning to end, is His work of grace. If it were up to me – even 1% – I’d never be saved. Blessings!

  2. Dick Bowley says:

    Bernie,
    We have known each other less than a month, but you have blessed me ‘many years worth’ in your blogs. Thank you for your treatise on ‘salvational amnesia’. You definitely have a good memory on salvation, no forgetting for you. Thank you for ‘Being Still and Knowing He is God’. Your brother,
    DB

    • bwebbjr says:

      So good to hear that the Lord is working through both of us for mutual encouragement Dick … thanks for the encouraging comment!

      Abide IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

