God is still healing my cancer …

Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name!
Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits,
who forgives all your iniquity, who heals ALL YOUR DISEASES,
who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with STEADFAST LOVE AND MERCY,
who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.  Psalm 103:1-5 (ESV)

My most recent CT (computed tomography) scan was this past Monday.  We do one after every fourth chemotherapy treatment to see either what progress is occurring from a healing perspective or what progress the cancer is making.

My oncologist came in today smiling and said ‘I have good news and better news this morning.’  The good news … we continue to see shrinkage in the cancer nodules they are tracking on my lungs … we now have had nearly 18 months of no growth or shrinkage …

God is still healing my cancer … Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name!

The better news was that the scheduled chemotherapy would not occur today … my platelet counts were too low.  So I have an extra unscheduled week off from chemotherapy.

As I have shared before, prior to each chemotherapy treatment, I give blood so they can do an analysis of my complete blood counts (CBCs) checking the red blood cell counts, white blood cell counts and platelet counts.  While I’ll give a quick summary as to the why here is an article if you’re interested: The Effects of Chemotherapy on Bone Marrow.

Chemotherapy drugs are designed to attacks rapidly dividing cells … which makes it effective in fighting cancer.  Unfortunately it can not distinguish between good rapidly dividing cells and bad rapidly dividing cells.  Therefore the good rapidly dividing cells in bone marrow are attacked and as a result the blood cell production of bone marrow is suppressed.  So the oncologist monitors the CBCs to make sure you do not receive a chemo treatment when your counts are already low … like my platelet counts were this morning.  Apparently for platelet counts, according to my oncologist, extra time off chemo is the primary method of getting the platelet counts up … so I have an extra week off.

Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am languishing; HEAL ME, O LORD, for MY BONES ARE TROUBLED.  Psalms 6:2 (ESV)

Oh Lord, thank you for your loving care and healing touch!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to God is still healing my cancer …

  1. Steven Sawyer says:

    Bernie,
    will be praying for you. I’m walking along side a brother who begins chemo soon for colon cancer. God bless you, my friend.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for the prayers Steven … the brother you speak of is blessed indeed to have someone walking along side him – from experience I can tell you it is a great encouragement. May you both be blessed by God in the journey!

      Bernie

  2. Butch Dean says:

    In my thoughts and prayers.

  3. savedbygrace says:

    bro, have you tried taking communion everyday and declare Jesus’ death, burial and Resurrection?

    • bwebbjr says:

      Not everyday … only when served by the church I attend … what has been your experience with everyday communion? Bernie

      • savedbygrace says:

        there was this time that i took communion everyday.
        we took it at home not for some other reason, but simply because we wanted to honor what Jesus has done at the cross.

        then

        when the company required for employment medical certificate – my heart disease for 20+ yrs was not found in the medical exam

        then after a few months, a huge debt was paid, paid by someone! note that I acquired the debt when I was not under grace yet.

        and times when children being sick, we have no money to buy medicine or go to doctor, but by merely not caring anymore about our plight, Jesus healed the kids

        countless things.

        although, I must admit it may seem that I am giving you a formula, but the healing happened unexpected. it wasn’t that we took communion at home because we are in trouble. we simply had a revelation of the finish work of Jesus and wanted to honor Him.

        its like this, I don’t believe when you give your tithe, God will bless.

        I believe God has already bless you that is why you give your tithe. you know God has already did that.

        in the same manner, I believe, Jesus has healed us already. we take communion to do it in remembrance of Jesus and the things He has done at the cross.

        3nd week of January, I though I was going to heaven. there was a sort of a sign. to make the long story short.
        and the funny thing is this, I didn’t resorted to taking communion (as I am suggesting you do). because communion is not the answer.
        in fact, I was happy to meet Jesus :).

        but then after hearing a preaching (i listen to preaching everyday) the preacher said. pray with me

        “I receive the super abounding grace for my heart”
        “I receive the super abounding grace for my blood pressure”

        I said what? I never ask to be prayed. and to be prayed for my heart’s condition

        then after a few hours, I was normal.

        i knew very well that Jesus bore my sickness, and that I knew very well I am righteous before God. as a result, i cant be bothered by sickness and the wickedness of the body (i mean the failure of the body to give health)

        what more? I know I am God’s child. even if I dont care, He cares. even if we are faithless, He remains faithful.

        so to you brother? this is what I say

        you faith will not heal you. Jesus will heal you, He has already done so. you can stop qualifying yourself and say “I must have faith to be healed”.

        to receive healing is simple. one must be sick. as Jesus said “it is the sick who needs a doctor”, literal and figuratively. therefore you qualify!

        know that God loves you. meditate on God’s love. most of the time, in God’s presence, I lost the desire for healing, for blessing, for anything. you even forget to eat your lunch or dinner. for God will satisfy you. the next thing you know? you are healed. bless, and full.

        not one, no one in the presence of Jesus died, but those who are dead becomes alive in His presence.

        Jesus is in you. you are God’s beloved (J 3:16)

        alright. may God bless you brother… I will pray for you. sometimes it gives us comfort and joy to know someone is praying for us. 🙂

        – grace and peace

    • bwebbjr says:

      POWERFUL testimony … and powerful teaching. Thanks so much for sharing your experiences … God is faithful!

      Bernie

  4. Michael says:

    Hi Bernie,Wishing you a very happy Valentine’s Day in advance !!!

  5. judikruis says:

    We speak life to those blood cells. For rapid multiplication of GOOD during this time. Part of the journey with my mom is that my brother is very into naturalist foods and healthcare. I’m learning a lot about how God and His veggies help in that process. Thank you Lord for all the good things you bring to Bernie. Pour out more to him as he seeks you so sincerely. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

