a simple but profound tweet on losing your salvation

Encountered this tweet from @PastorMark (Mark Driscoll – founding pastor of Mars Hill Church in Seattle, Washington) on twitter Thursday and it really seemed simple yet profound so I thought I would share it here today with a short blog entry following.

The content of the tweet was as follows:

“As a Christian, can I lose my salvation?”

I didn’t save myself so I can’t unsave myself.

Better question.

“Can Jesus lose a Christian?”

No!

Let me add a couple of verses of supporting Scriptures in case you have questions.

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst.   But I said to you that you have seen Me, and yet do not believe.   All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will certainly not cast out.   For I have come down from heaven, not to do My own will, but the will of Him who sent Me.   This is the will of Him who sent Me, that of all that He has given Me I lose nothing, but raise it up on the last day.   For this is the will of My Father, that everyone who beholds the Son and believes in Him will have eternal life, and I Myself will raise him up on the last day.”  John 6:35-40 (NASB)

All people that the Father gives to Jesus will not be cast out.  The will of God is that Jesus loses none the Father has given Him and that they be resurrected on the last day.  Thank you Lord for this incredible promise!!!

Jesus answered them, “I told you, and you do not believe; the works that I do in My Father’s name, these testify of Me.   But you do not believe because you are not of My sheep.   My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me;   and I give eternal life to them, and they will never perish; and no one will snatch them out of My hand.   My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.   I and the Father are one.”  John 10:25-30 (NASB)

Jesus gives eternal life to His sheep and they will never perish and NO ONE will snatch His sheep out of the hand of Jesus.  Not only that, but NO ONE is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand.  Both the Father and the Son are securely holding on to each and every one of us and finally …

IN Him (Christ Jesus), you also, after listening to the message of truth, the gospel of your salvation–having also believed, you were sealed IN Him with the Holy Spirit of promise,  who is given as a pledge of our inheritance, with a view to the redemption of God’s own possession, to the praise of His glory.  Ephesians 1:13-14 (NASB)

With your salvation, you are sealed IN Christ Jesus with the Holy Spirit of promise … as a pledge or guarantee of your inheritance with a view to your redemption, all to the praise of God’s glory.

Key point: The Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit each play a role in insuring that we, as believers, will never lose our salvation.

Now that’s what I call assurance we can be confident in!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a simple but profound tweet on losing your salvation

  1. What an important truth! If we have any part in our own salvation, we are open to spiritual failure and loss because we’re so far from perfect; but if “Salvation is of the Lord”, the work that He alone has done from eternity past, then we are eternally secure in Him. That’s why He calls it “eternal” life, not temporary life depending on how we measure up today. On-again, off-again life … not a chance if God’s done it!

    I remember when I discovered 1 Peter 1:3-9. What assurance to my soul.

    Thank you for sharing!

    • bwebbjr says:

      You are welcome Richard and thanks for your additional words on the assurance of salvation including the Scripture reference to 1 Peter 1:3-9 …

      3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4 to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, 5 who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. 6 In this you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trials, 7 so that the tested genuineness of your faith—more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire—may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ. 8 Though you have not seen him, you love him. Though you do not now see him, you believe in him and rejoice with joy that is inexpressible and filled with glory, 9 obtaining the outcome of your faith, the salvation of your souls.

      Great words of assurance indeed!

      Also thanks for reblogging this post … I do appreciate it!

      Bernie

  2. jimdavenport says:

    Those who teach that you can lose your salvation once saved are not reading what the scripture says. You have it absolutely right, Bernie. Thank God for His immeasurable gift and the working of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit in sealing our salvation! Jim D.

  3. Reblogged this on Where Living Begins and commented:
    Losing your Salvation – by Bernie Webb

  4. Enjoyed hearing this truth today. Thanks, Bernie

  5. Jason says:

    Great words, Bernie! The LORD keep you and bless you!!!

Leave a Reply

