an excellent closing to an excellent book

Over the weekend I finished reading the excellent book Power of Prayer (POP): A Journey in the Light by Dick Bowley.  I gave a brief review on his book last Thursday.

POP

The book closed with this excellent and appropriate passage for those battling leukemia and cancer:

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.  For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. 2 Corinthians 4:16-18 (ESV)

Through the light momentary afflictions of leukemia/cancer and the fact that our outer self is wasting away:

  • We do NOT lose heart
  • Our inner self is being renewed day by day … oftentimes in ways beyond comprehension and explanation
  • The affliction is preparing us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison
  • We look toward the eternal unseen things

What a powerful message to close a book on one’s battle with leukemia!

Dick is the friend of a friend and tonight I was blessed to have a 30 minute telephone conversation with him.  What a blessing indeed as we got to know each other a bit and how Christ has grown and strengthened our faith in the midst of our battles.  Dick offered both encouragement and prayer and he is every bit the faithful believer and prayer warrior the book reveals him to be!

Anne, thanks for setting up the meet.  And Dick, thanks for the call.

And Lord, thanks for this precious and memorable moment!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Books, Movies & Music, Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to an excellent closing to an excellent book

  1. Anne Kirkland says:

    Bernie,
    Just thinking about you and Dick being able to get to know each other has truly touched me. Happy tears!!

    I am blessed to know both of you…two humble Christian men (my brothers!) who have become strong through your affliction. I am grateful that the two of you are sharing your story so that others can come to know our Father and the rest that comes only from Him.

Leave a Reply

