a man of many hats

One of the side effects for many folks undergoing chemotherapy is a loss of hair.  Fortunately, God in His infinite foreknowledge let me go bald long before I was officially diagnosed with cancer … thank you Lord!

But nevertheless since that diagnosis I have become a big devotee and lover of hats … and it’s become a year round passion.

Today I added this black plaid driver’s cap to my collection … I needed one to go with the shown gray/black polar fleece.  So this hat is for the somewhat cold days … not the very cold days.

IMG_6734

This floppy hat with it’s wide all around brim is my rainy day hat … and it works all year round.  It’s also my beach hat for keeping the sun off my face and neck … and the top of my shiny bald head.

IMG_6736

Hey, every body needs a ball cap … this one just reminds me of one of my favorite places to vacation … and a ball cap typically reflects a bit of a care-free attitude … especially for me …

IMG_6737

This brown tweed driver’s cap is wool and lined and is my go-to cap for those really cold days and it really keeps my head warm on those blustery days.

IMG_6738

(Thanks to my loving wife Sheryl for amusing me and taking all these hat pictures today.  Love you dear!)

All this talk about hats has made me stop and think about all the other hats (roles/responsibilities) I wear.  Here’s my list ….

Son, brother, cousin, husband, father, father-in-law, grandfather, brother-in-law, uncle, employee, co-worker, blogger, friend, neighbor, cancer warrior, church member, small group leader, brother IN Christ, forgiven sinner, child of God, joint heir with Christ …

Wonder what I might have missed … will continue to think about.

Used to be a grandson, but all my grandparents have died.  Used to be a nephew, but all my aunts and uncles have passed away. Used to be a son-in-law, but my mother-in-law and father-in-law have both gone to sleep as well.

Have you given some thought to what your list might look like?

Considering my many hats …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to a man of many hats

  1. They all look great!! (especially when worn with a smile 🙂

    • bwebbjr says:

      Yes, my wife and I were really beginning to have some fun by the time we took the last picture. No telling what subsequent pictures would have looked like if we’d had a few more hats …

    • bwebbjr says:

      Yes, my wife and I were really beginning to have some fun by the time we took the last picture. No telling what subsequent pictures would have looked like if we’d had a few more hats …

  2. fun post. love the photos.

  3. judikruis says:

    Some days I feel like I have too many hats but He assures me His yoke is easy and all hats are needed. My mom just finished knitting a new one for me on Sunday!! Great work TEAM!!

Leave a Reply

