desktop reminders of hope

I, for one, like to have visual reminders around me of God’s plan, purpose, promises and will.  I recently added the ‘Hope Cross’ below to a shelf over my computer in my work cubicle as a daily reminder of the hope that can only be found in the Lord.

Hope Cross

It is a concatenation of Isaiah 40:31, Psalm 31:24 and Hebrews 10:23 and reads as follows:

… those who TRUST in the
LORD will find NEW STRENGTH.
They will SOAR high on wings
like EAGLES.  They will RUN
and not grow weary. They 
will WALK and not faint.
So BE STRONG and COURAGEOUS,
all you who put your HOPE
in the LORD.  Let us HOLD
TIGHTLY without wavering to
the HOPE we affirm, for GOD
can be TRUSTED to keep
HIS PROMISE.

My oldest granddaughter gave me this eagle as Christmas gift ten or eleven years ago … and it has also served as a symbol of hope for me throughout the years …

Hope Eagle

It has served as a constant reminder of the hope found in Isaiah 40:28-31 …

Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth Does not become weary or tired. His understanding is inscrutable.  He gives strength to the weary, And to him who lacks might He increases power.  Though youths grow weary and tired, And vigorous young men stumble badly, yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength; they will mount up with wings like eagles, they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary.

May you find the assurance I have found by putting my hope and trust IN the Lord through ALL things!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to desktop reminders of hope

  1. Butch Dean says:

    Thanks for sharing. The reminders are wise and necessary.

Leave a Reply

