let me introduce our prayer intercessors

You might be wondering how in the world (and heavens) we could possibly have the same prayer intercessors … check it out.

Let me introduce our prayer intercessor … the Holy Spirit.

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.   And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.  Romans 8:26-27 (ESV)

Are you ever unsure of what you ought to be praying for?  Not the Holy Spirit … He intercedes for you and me with groanings too deep for words.  Ever been to the depths of darkness and despair … then you might have begun to get a glimpse of what those groanings might sound like …

Do you know what the will of God is so you know how to pray for it?  I don’t know about you but oftentimes the only vision I get of God’s will is what is revealed through Scripture.  Not true for the Holy Spirit.  In the oneness shared by the Father, the Son and the Spirit, He knows exactly what the will of God is … AND He intercedes for the saints (yes, Scripture is talking about you and me as believers/followers) according to the will of God.

WOW! WOW! WOW!

Oh but there is more … let me introduce our prayer intercessor … Christ Jesus!

What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?  He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things?   Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies.   Who is to condemn? Christ Jesus is the one who died—more than that, who was raised—who is at the right hand of God, who indeed is interceding for us.   Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword?

 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.   For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers,  nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.  Romans 8:31-35,37-39 (ESV)

and …

This makes Jesus the guarantor of a better covenant.  The former priests were many in number, because they were prevented by death from continuing in office,  but he holds his priesthood permanently, because he continues forever.   Consequently, he is able to save to the uttermost those who draw near to God through him, since he always lives to make intercession for them.  Hebrews 7:22-25 (ESV)

So there seems to be a primary purpose in the intercession of Christ Jesus based on the two passages of above … and I think it is clearly defined in the next verse …

For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.   John 6:40 (ESV)

Jesus primary intercession is for our eternal life and salvation … thank you Lord!

But there is more …

Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession.   For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.   Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.  Hebrews 4:14-16 (ESV)

And what is often our perceived greatest need as mankind in the midst of prayer?

That we may receive God’s mercy and find the grace of God to help in our time of need!

Thank you Lord for a plan that calls for the Holy Spirit and the Son of God to intercede for your children in our time of need!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

