Blessed be the name of the Lord!

(After repeatedly listening to the praise and worship song ‘Blessed Be The Name’ by Matt Redman on his CD ‘Sing Like Never Before: The Essential Collection’ – BTW an excellent collection CD – I was inspired to seek out this passage of Scripture and write this post.)

Take a moment and consider the tragic news Job received regarding his family in the opening of the Old Testament book bearing his name …

Now on the day when his sons and his daughters were eating and drinking wine in their oldest brother’s house, a messenger came to Job and said, “The oxen were plowing and the donkeys feeding beside them, and the Sabeans attacked and took them. They also slew the servants with the edge of the sword, and I alone have escaped to tell you.”  While he was still speaking, another also came and said, “The fire of God fell from heaven and burned up the sheep and the servants and consumed them, and I alone have escaped to tell you.”  While he was still speaking, another also came and said, “The Chaldeans formed three bands and made a raid on the camels and took them and slew the servants with the edge of the sword, and I alone have escaped to tell you.”  While he was still speaking, another also came and said, “Your sons and your daughters were eating and drinking wine in their oldest brother’s house, and behold, a great wind came from across the wilderness and struck the four corners of the house, and it fell on the young people and they died, and I alone have escaped to tell you.”  Job 1:13-19 (NASB)

How do you think you would respond to such tragic family news?  May it be something you never have to face … I can only imagine a lot of tears, a lot of crying and screaming out to God, “WHY? WHY? WHY?”  (Note: My faith threshold for personal pain, trials and tribulations is far higher than my faith threshold for the pains, trials and tribulations of my wife, children and grandchildren)

Look how Job responded …

Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head, AND HE FELL TO THE GROUND AND WORSHIPED.  He said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, And naked I shall return there. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away. BLESSED BE THE NAME OF THE LORD.”   Through all this Job did not sin nor did he blame God.  Job 1:20-22 (NASB)

He fell to the ground and worshiped!

He proclaimed ‘Blessed be the name of the Lord!’

He did not sin and he did not blame God!

For a close I can’t help but be drawn to the following …

My soul, wait in silence for God only, For my hope is from Him.
He only is my rock and my salvation, My stronghold; I shall not be shaken.
On God my salvation and my glory rest; The rock of my strength, my refuge is in God.
Trust in Him at all times, O people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. Selah.  Psalm 62:5-8 (NASB)

Blessed be the name of the Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blessed be the name of the Lord!

  1. Anne Kirkland says:

    Bernie, thank you for your thoughts on this song…one of my favorites, along with “Bless the Lord Oh My Soul (10,000 Reasons).” We can never predict how we may react to bad news. I have thought about what would be the worst news I could ever receive, and have told myself that even though I would suffer greatly (and possibly collapse) from such news, I would still praise and worship my Father. He would be the only source of comfort for me.

    My sweet daughter gave me this cd for Christmas. It was the first gift I opened, and was such a touching surprise that I cried. I had mentioned to her a few months ago how much I loved “10,000 Reasons,” and, being the most thoughtful daughter I could ever wish for, she remembered!!!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Anne, your faith and your sweet Spirit-led soul continue to be an inspiration to me. I do remember a few months ago on a post about worship music you shared that 10,000 reasons was one of several favorites you were worshiping with at the time. Glad to hear you got the CD – a thoughtful daughter is indeed a blessing from the Lord. (BTW – Tuesday this week a new Chris Tomlin CD came out titled ‘Burning Lights’ that has some awesome worship music as well).

      May God’s blessings continue to abound for you and Kenny!

      Bernie

  2. Psalm 62 does go nicely with the Job verse.
    I, unfortunately, can relate to this post at this present time.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Dawn, so sorry to hear you can relate to this post at this time … praying for you and yours … may the Lord comfort you and be your rock in the midst of this storm!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

