Anger … a lesson to self

Sometimes I need refresher lessons from the Bible … today’s need is for a lesson on anger.  Tuesday I got angry about some news … and it consumed me for 3-4 hours.  I won’t be sharing the details … or tomorrow’s lesson to self will be on gossip …

The first tale of anger in Scripture is in regards to Cain and Abel … and we know how that worked out.  Anger can be a dangerous and destructive emotion … and occassionally my tongue and anger blow up before my heart and mind have been engaged …

Word of God speak … Holy Spirit teach and convict!

Do not be eager in your heart to be angry, for anger resides in the bosom of fools.  Ecclesiastes 7:9 (NASB)

An angry man stirs up strife, And a hot-tempered man abounds in transgression.  A man’s pride will bring him low, But a humble spirit will obtain honor.  Proverbs 29:22-23 (NASB)

A hot-tempered man stirs up strife, But the slow to anger calms a dispute.  Proverbs 15:18 (NASB)

If anyone thinks himself to be religious, and yet does not bridle his tongue but deceives his own heart, this man’s religion is worthless.  James 1:26 (NASB)

Be angry, and yet do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and do not give the devil an opportunity.  Ephesians 4:26-27 (NASB)

But you, why do you judge your brother? Or you again, why do you regard your brother with contempt? For we will all stand before the judgment seat of God.  For it is written, “As I live, says the Lord, every knee shall bow to Me, And every tongue shall give praise to God.”  So then each one of us will give an account of himself to God.   Therefore let us not judge one another anymore, but rather determine this–not to put an obstacle or a stumbling block in a brother’s way.  Romans 14:10-13 (NASB)

For this reason also, God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow, of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and that every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.  Philippians 2:9-11 (NASB)

Let not many of you become teachers, my brethren, knowing that as such we will incur a stricter judgment.  For we all stumble in many ways. If anyone does not stumble in what he says, he is a perfect man, able to bridle the whole body as well.  Now if we put the bits into the horses’ mouths so that they will obey us, we direct their entire body as well.  Look at the ships also, though they are so great and are driven by strong winds, are still directed by a very small rudder wherever the inclination of the pilot desires.  So also the tongue is a small part of the body, and yet it boasts of great things. See how great a forest is set aflame by such a small fire!  And the tongue is a fire, the very world of iniquity; the tongue is set among our members as that which defiles the entire body, and sets on fire the course of our life, and is set on fire by hell.  For every species of beasts and birds, of reptiles and creatures of the sea, is tamed and has been tamed by the human race.  But no one can tame the tongue; it is a restless evil and full of deadly poison.  With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the likeness of God; from the same mouth come both blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be this way.  Does a fountain send out from the same opening both fresh and bitter water?  Can a fig tree, my brethren, produce olives, or a vine produce figs? Nor can salt water produce fresh.  James 5:1-12 (NASB)

Forgive me Father for a sharp tongue and a quick eruption of anger!

Examine me, O LORD, and try me; Test my mind and my heart.  Psalms 26:2 (NASB)

Reveal to me Lord the err of my way!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anger … a lesson to self

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, all of us have “hot buttons”. When the right is pressed it is easy to lash out with an anger when we are normally under control. The flesh is weak. Thank God that He sent Jesus to pay the price for our sins … a price that we could never pay!! And, thank God that He gives the Holy Spirit to help us discern and understand His word.

    A good reminder for all of us, my brother.

    Jim D.

Leave a Reply

