But Jesus said it first …

One of the most popular verses in Paul’s letters is the following …

 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives IN me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.  Galatians 2:20 (ESV)

And this one as well …

Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling,  for it is God who works IN you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.  Philippians 2:12-13 (ESV)

Well, in my daily reading on Sunday I spent some time in John 14 and came across these words of Jesus on the mutual indwelling …

Do you not believe that I am IN the Father and the Father is IN me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells IN me does his works.  Believe me that I am IN the Father and the Father is IN me, or else believe on account of the works themselves.  John 14:10-11 (ESV)

If you continue on in John 14, you’ll find there is a great deal of activity going on withIN the believer … the Holy Spirit will live IN you …

If you love me, you will keep my commandments.  And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever,  even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be IN you.  John 14:15-17 (ESV)

Also, both the Father and the Son will make their home IN you …

If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.  John 14:23 (ESV)

And finally a description of the mutual indwelling …

Because I live, you also will live.In that day you will know that I am IN my Father, and you IN me, and I IN you.  John 14:19-20 (ESV)

IN … the biggest word in the New Testament …

We started with Paul … let’s close with some of his words as well …

Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I am filling up what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions for the sake of his body, that is, the church,  of which I became a minister according to the stewardship from God that was given to me for you, to make the word of God fully known,  the mystery hidden for ages and generations but now revealed to his saints.  To them God chose to make known how great among the Gentiles are the riches of the glory of this mystery, which is Christ IN you, the hope of glory.  Him we proclaim, warning everyone and teaching everyone with all wisdom, that we may present everyone mature in Christ.  Colossians 1:24-28 (ESV)

Makes sense, don’t you think?

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

