a different perspective on the journey of life

Well, Christmas 2012 has passed with a blur … all the build-up and then POOF! … Christmas is over and we’re headed toward the New Year of 2013!

Cancer has given me a different perspective on this journey of life.

Too often we take our days yet to come for granted.  Some are already looking forward to Christmas 2013 and starting to buy gifts and decorations during the after Christmas sales.  Others, who simply don’t like Christmas … be it the religious aspects or how materialistic it has become … are already dreading next Christmas.  But in both cases … the assumption people make is that there are still a number of Christmases in their future to enjoy or to endure.

In August 2011, I was diagnosed with incurable metastatic stage IV colon cancer with chemo beginning shortly thereafter for the rest of my earthly life … my surgeon at the time left my wife with the impression when I came out of surgery that my cancer was nasty and aggressive and I didn’t have long to live.  Sixteen months later I just went through my second Christmas, the cancer is shrinking and I feel strong as ever.  Thank you Jesus!

Yet as yesterday (Christmas Day) drew to a close, I couldn’t help but stop and reflect … was today my last Christmas?  How many more Christmases with my family will I have?

Don’t misunderstand … this is not a depressing thought … it is simply a dose of reality I have rarely dealt with in most of my life … and I am indeed thankful for it.  Rather than simply taking the remaining days of life for granted it has given be a greater sense of appreciation and gratitude for each and every day the good Lord gives me … even when the substance of those days don’t always reflect it.

The last sixteen months have been a lesson in the following passages of Scripture …

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, and spend a year there and engage in business and make a profit.”  Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away.  Instead, you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and also do this or that.”  James 4:13-15 (NASB)

I have definitely come to understand  that each and every single day and what may occur in that day for the glory of God … is ONLY as the Lord wills and directs my steps for the remaining days He has ordained for me.

The mind of man plans his way, but the LORD directs his steps.  Proverbs 16:9 (NASB)

And in Your book were all written the days that were ordained for me, when as yet there was not one of them.  Psalm 139:16 (NASB)

Lord, as this year comes to an end and a new one begins, may I become even more grateful for each and every day you have given me and may you be glorified in each and every one!

So from what perspective to you approach the journey in the life God has given you?

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a different perspective on the journey of life

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, God still has work for you to do! You are such a great encourager. May Gid grant you many more Christmas celebrations! Jim D.

  2. Carrie Morrison says:

    I so appreciate your encouraging thoughts even as you are going thru the cancer, treatments, and all. Hope you all had a blessed Christmas, and praying His best for you in the new year and whatever it may bring!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks Carrie – yes, we have had an incredible Christmas season with our family and are looking forward to what God has in store in 2013! May you and yours experience the incredible blessings and love of God in 2013!

      IN Christ!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

