Coming out of a funk

A funk is defined as a state of paralyzing fear, a depressed state of mind.

I don’t find myself in that funk state of mind too often … maybe 2 or 3 times a year … it’s so rare my wife gets alarmed when I slip into it.  This passage of Scripture does a pretty good job of illustrating what happens for me …

And in the fourth watch of the night he came to them, walking on the sea.  But when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were terrified, and said, “It is a ghost!” and they cried out in FEAR.  But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Take heart; it is I. Do not be afraid.”  And Peter answered him, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.”  He said, “Come.” So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus.  But when he saw the wind, he was AFRAID, and beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me.”  Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, “O you of little FAITH, why did you doubt?”  Matthew 14:25-31 (ESV)

I have to wonder if Peter really saw the wind or he saw the impact of the winds … in the waves, the waterspray, the way the boat was being tossed about.  Note how he went from fear (seeing Jesus walking on the water) to faith (walking on water himself) to fear (seeing the wind and sinking) to a cry of faith, ‘Lord, save me.’

I don’t know about Peter but simply walking thru this life on solid ground is an act of faith … a huge act of faith … I could give names to the waves and winds in my life … health concerns, family challenges, work issues, financial woes, etc. …  I’m sure all of you could relate to one, all or more of these.

And sometimes I choose to allow those winds and waves to become mountains … my mountains … while virtually closing my eyes and ears and ignoring Jesus … I take sole ownership of those winds and waves and since in my own strength I am pretty much powerless to truly control those winds and waves I begin to sink into a deeper funk or an overcoming dread or fear. And since the imminent threat of drowning is nowhere to be seen for me like it was for a Peter, I choose to simply wallow around in that funk much like a pig does in his favorite mud hole.

My calls for the Lord to save me are not nearly as impassioned as Peter’s.  Eventually my cries for help come from the heart … and the Lord is ever faithful … simply waiting for me to truly want Him to rescue from the funk.

The following is from today’s Oswald Chamber’s My Utmost for His Highest

Faith by its very nature must be tried, and the real trial of faith is not that we find it difficult to trust God, but that God’s character has to be cleared in our own minds. Faith in its actual working out has to go through spells of unsyllabled isolation. Never confound the trial of faith with the ordinary discipline of life, much that we call the trial of faith is the inevitable result of being alive.

Lord, help me in the midst of my unbelief and fear … I long to be found faithful … thank you for your rescue!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coming out of a funk

  1. mikedaroza says:

    Great post!!!
    I like to think of these occurrences as “seasons” we all go through Bernie.
    The key, and I think you’re on the right track, is simply to realize you are in the middle of one season, but also realize a better one is on the horizon.
    If you get a chance, please read a post I wrote last week that deals specifically with these “seasons” on my site A Changing Grace, the post is titled ‘Tis the Season http://achanginggrace.wordpress.com/2012/10/25/tis-the-season/
    I hope you enjoy, and look forward to reading more of your posts.
    In His Grace,
    Mike

    • bwebbjr says:

      Mike, I apologize. Your comment slipped under my response radar. It should not have taken me so long to respond to your encouraging words. And you are so spot on … when Christ Jesus is your Lord and Savior there is always a season of hope on the horizon … God is every faithful … a truth we must never lose sight of.

      Thanks for the reminder … may you and your abide IN Christ Jesus and His love!

      Bernie

  2. jimdavenport says:

    I identify my brother! Letting go and letting God have His way is sometimes harder than it has to be! Keep the faith as God never abandons us … It is quite the opposite! We abandon Him but He never really goes away? Jim D.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Sorry for the delay in getting back to you Jim … I have found a few comments that seemed to have slipped under my response radar. God is indeed ever-faithful and ever present … we just need to keep our eyes and our heart fixed upon Him in the midst of the difficult times.

      Thanks for your friendship Jim these last three decades plus!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

