If you could have any wish fulfilled …

In last week’s small group gathering one of the questions for discussion was:

If you could have any wish fulfilled, what would it be?

Why don’t you take a minute and consider what your answer would be?

Two of us in the group find ourselves in the midst of a cancer journey, and the other guys were surprised that our wish was not for the cancer to be taken away.

We both see the blessings in the midst of our cancer.  Consider this …

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.  My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.  Psalm 139:14-16 (ESV)

When I was diagnosed with cancer, God did not slap his forehead in surprise and say ‘Didn’t see that coming!’ … take a minute and try to visualize that …

Before the foundation of the world God knew this would happen and he knew exactly when it would happen …

Some would question why God would allow such a thing to happen?  But I say, if God would send His only begotten and sin-free Son to be tortured, beaten and die on a cross for my sin and the sin of the world when we were all His enemies … well, how can I ever question His motives, plans or purpose … remember …

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.  Isaiah 55:8-9 (ESV)

His thoughts and ways are so much higher than mine there is no way I can begin to question or comprehend them.  To do so would imply I think myself a god.  I am simply called to trust Him … my God … in the midst of the trial … to step out in faith … and count it a joy!

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds,  for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.  And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.  James 1:2-4 (ESV)

As a result of the testing in the midst of thee various kinds of trials … including cancer, God makes me perfect and complete … lacking in nothing.  What more could I possibly hope to accomplish in a trial-free life or a life of my won design?

Consider this passage from Romans …

And we know that for those who love God ALL THINGS work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.  Romans 8:28 (ESV)

ALL THINGS … and this includes cancer … work together … to me this means that cancer is working together with all the other various aspects of my life and character … for good … for God’s good and for mine … for those called according to His purpose … and I truly must believe by what I observe in myself and in my life that I have indeed been called according to His purpose.

Thank you Lord for loving me in the midst of my cancer journey!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

