and to enjoy God forever

Earlier this week I shared the first part of answer to the following question from the Westminster Shorter Catechism

What is the chief end of man?

The first half of the answer is:

Man’s chief end is to glorify God …

And the second part of the answer is:

and to enjoy Him forever.

I don’t know about you but I don’t remember hearing too much teaching and/or preaching where the phrase ‘enjoying God forever’ was used.  Let’s check out the scriptural support they offer for such an answer … (I am going to put words in bold that support the concept of enjoying God forever)

The LORD is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot.  The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.  I bless the LORD who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me.  I have set the LORD always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.  Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure.  For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption.  You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.  Psalm 16:5-11 (ESV)

OK, in that one passage alone the case for enjoying God forever seems to be made … but let’s continue …

Blessed are the people to whom such blessings fall! Blessed are the people whose God is the LORD!  Psalm 144:15 (ESV)

Blessed indeed!

“Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid; for the LORD GOD is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation.”  Isaiah 12:2 (ESV)

My salvation, my strength and my song!!!

And the angel said to them, “Fear not, for behold, I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people.”  Luke 2:10 (ESV)

Good news of great joy … the gospel.

Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice.  Philippians 4:4 (ESV)

Rejoice always … the outward expression of an inner God-given joy!

And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God.   He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”  Revelation 21:3-4 (ESV)

The dwelling place of God is with man … no more tears … no more death … no more mourning … no more crying … no more pain.

Man’s chief end is to glorify God and to enjoy Him forever.

ABSOLUTELY!!!

While I may never have heard that message in so many words, the above proves there is little doubt that it is one of the messages of Scripture.

Thanks for opening my eyes Lord … thanks for opening my eyes!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

