hydration, chemotherapy and Aladdin Water Vessel

About a year ago in preparation for beginning chemotherapy, my wife and I attended a Chemotherapy 101 class at our oncologist’s office.  I’ve shared bits and pieces from that class over the past year.  The following point made by the chemo nurse in that class has stuck with me throughout the year …

The #1 problem encountered by cancer patients undergoing chemotherapy is not taking in enough daily fluids (recommended 48 -64 ounces a day).

I understand she was trying to make an important point, but after a year I would say the #1 problem would be not hydration but coping with the side effects of the chemotherapy itself.  But I will also admit that staying well hydrated has indeed made coping with the side effects of chemotherapy more bearable.

But even though 48-64 ounces doesn’t sound like much, drinking that much can prove challenging.  While receiving oxoliplatin during the first ten treatments (I’m in the midst of #22 as I write this – #12 without oxoliplatin), I lost all desire to drink which really made it a challenge.  Fortunately, once we got off that bad boy … that ceased to be a problem.

In the midst of my attempts to stay adequately hydrated during chemo, I drank a lot of pre-bottled water, green tea, Fuze, Sobe Lifewater, etc.  But recently at Target I came across this 18oz  Aladdin Water Vessel for just under $10 …

As you can see, it conveniently comes apart into three pieces.  The bottle is double walled and I have found it will keep a drink cool for two to three hours.  While they are advertised as sweat proof, I must admit there are times it does perspire.  Unscrew the dome lid and you can easily insert ice cubes in the bottle … sometimes I fill it up from the water fountain at work for the commute home.

Aladdin claims they are dishwasher safe but we don’t use a dishwasher so I can’t vouch for that.  They are also advertised as leak-proof which I can vouch for after 4 weeks of using.  Of course, I keep it in an upright position and I don’t fill above the seam where the dome lid connects to the bottle.

I have found that the drink spout is much larger than what you encounter with the typical store bought 16 oz water bottle … which means you get bigger gulps of water with each sip.  Also, I’ve cut back considerably on my plastic water bottle usage (and the associated recycling).  And to top it off I’m drinking more water …

Just thought I would pass this lil tidbit on … have any hydration pointers you’d be willing to share?

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to hydration, chemotherapy and Aladdin Water Vessel

  1. jillinois says:

    I hated water for a LONG time. Then I moved from an area with tasty tap water to a city that must siphon its public water supply from the park district’s swimming pools. The chlorine flavor is overwhelming. I started being a public menace and got bottled water- and I had to try several before I found the three ‘regular’ ones I like ( Ice Mountain, Nestle Pure Life, and the local Schnuck’s store brand). For those occasions when I like to have some sort of indulgence, it’s Fiji water, hands down. But it’s expensive- so a rare treat. I also found that if I kept it ice cold, I could handle it. Now, I even like the stuff ! During the 6 weeks inpatient when I was first diagnosed with leukemia, I was on neutropenic precautions, so had to have bottled water from the hospital food service- they used one of the soda company brands- I don’t remember which one. And I couldn’t have ice because it was from the ice machine- cooties and all. I had IVs going for all but the last day, so I got off easy. But during my other chemo I had to make myself drink fluids- much of it was Gatorade or ginger ale. Depended on how my innards were doing.

    You’re right- being hydrated is a huge deal. 🙂 And that bottle thingie looks nifty !

    • bwebbjr says:

      Sounds like you had six weeks where you really had to be cautious … I’m sure you’re glad that’s behind you. While we are weaning ourselves from bottled water, our favorites have been Nestle Pure Life and Dasani … we avoid Pepsi’s Aqua Fina. OK, you painted quite a word picture with your description of water tasting like it came straight from the pool. Gatorade and Powerade have also been a part of my hydration. After a year, i am just trying carbonated drinks again … stomach is not terribly receptive to the idea. Thanks for stirring the conversation …

      Bernie

      • jillinois says:

        🙂 Glad to stir ! I found ginger ale to be a good buddy. I still drink it (though rationed because of blood sugar issues/diabetes). Some days a Compazine and ginger ale are breakfast– LOL

  2. jillinois says:

    Hey Bernie !
    I just found these bottles on Amazon (I don’t get out to stores much), and have put three in my cart ! I love that I can take the top off and put ice inside ! Thanks for the info 🙂

    Jill

    • bwebbjr says:

      Cool – once you get them and have been able to use them a while please stop back by and let me know how they have performed for you – I only have the one bottle but I really love it! And being able to take the top off to put ice in is indeed a great feature.

      Have a blessed day IN Christ Jesus Jill!

      Bernie

  3. These look great! Thanks for sharing as I know it will help many. Dehydration is also one cause of nausea which is catch 22. (I remember my brain telling my stomach it would feel better if I drink…..the fight would go on for a while)
    I’m not a fan of bottled water for many reasons (http://sisterearthorganics.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/water-water-everywhere-but-which-one-should-i-drink-2/ companies could sell toilet water and if it’s in a clear bottle with a seal, we think it’s “safe and healthy”), and these really make it easy to take your own. I liked mine with very thin slices of cucumber and lemon. It gives the water a really refreshing flavor but doesn’t really “flavor” the water.
    (Please note: there are no companies I am aware of that sell toilet water)

    Great find!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for sharing your insights on hydration and bottled water … I did not realize that dehydration is the number one cause for nausea … that really is a catch-22. Thanks for sharing the link to your post of bottled water … I like your practice of using sliced cucumbers and lemons to freshen the water … may have to give it a try.

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

