WWJD … examining the question

Perhaps you remember the fad or craze just a little bit over a decade ago when everyone was wearing a WWJD bracelet … as usual I always miss the trend and have only been wearing my bracelet for six months or so … that along with my LIVESTRONG yellow wrist band. Reminders and inspiration …

Do you know the story behind WWJD?

In 1897, Charles Sheldon wrote and published a book entitled In His Steps: What Would Jesus Do? And although Sheldon was not the originator of that phrase, after selling more than 30,000,000 copies of the book the phrase / WWJD certainly became more popular and picked up some serious momentum. The basic premise of the novel … the pastor of a small town church issues a one year challenge to his congregation. Don’t do anything without first asking the question ‘What would Jesus do?’ And the story follows what happens to selected members of the congregation, including the pastor, as they respond to that challenge.

The basic premise of the WWJD question is for the believer to stop and consider what Jesus would do and then put forth his or her best effort to do the same thing … to mimic or imitate Jesus.

But is ‘What would Jesus do’ the right question?

Consider the following words of Paul …

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives IN me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20 (ESV)

When a person is born-again, It is no longer the believer that lives but Christ who lives IN him or her. Believers live by faith IN the Son of God … by faith in what He has done, in what He is doing and what He will do. Our faith … our trust … is perfected in our response and cooperation with what Jesus will do IN and THROUGH us.

So I think the better question, asked with great anticipation, is ‘What will Jesus do?’ in each step of faith we take.

Exciting, isn’t it?

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WWJD … examining the question

  1. Peter says:

    Or maybe What is Jesus Doing? 🙂

Leave a Reply

