the desires of your heart

OK, I deleted round 1 of this post … let’s see if round 2 does any better.

Perhaps you are familiar with the following verse …

Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4 (ESV)

Now take just a minute and think about what you understand this verse to mean … got it?

Most folks would say ‘Take great pleasure in the Lord, and He will fulfill the desires of your heart.’

And that may indeed be true … but I would suggest another even deeper explanation …

“Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will place His desires in your heart.”

Rather than fulfilling the desires our our human heart … God places within us a new heart full of His desires.

God promised as much …

“Behold, the days are coming, declares the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judahnot like the covenant that I made with their fathers on the day when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, my covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, declares the LORD.  But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, declares the LORD: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts. And I will be their God, and they shall be my people.  And no longer shall each one teach his neighbor and each his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, declares the LORD. For I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.”  Jeremiah 31:31-34 (ESV)

So with the advent of the New Covenant, this passage is fulfilled for born-again believers (BTW the above passage from Jeremiah is quoted in Hebrews 8:8-12).

Remember when as a believer you are born-again, you are born of the Holy Spirit (see John 3:3-8).  Let’s look st some passages of the work of the Holy Spirit upon the new heart …

But when the goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that being justified by his grace we might become heirs according to the hope of eternal life.  Titus 3:4-7 (ESV)

God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.  Romans 5:5 (ESV)

And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us, and who has also put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.  2 Corinthians 1:21-22 (ESV)

And you show that you are a letter from Christ delivered by us, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.  2 Corinthians 3:3 (ESV)

Might be a good time to interject the prophecy God spoke through Ezekiel fulfilled above …

And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.  And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules.  Ezekiel 36:26-27 (ESV)

Continuing in the New Testament …

And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!”  Galatians 4:6 (ESV)

The result in all this …

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.  2 Corinthians 5:17 (ESV)

Thank you Lord for giving me a new heart, a heart full of Your desires.  Thank you for making me a new creation.  Thank you for Psalm 37:4 and all it reveals about You and Your plans!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the desires of your heart

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, I love this post. It is comforting for me to know that God is caring for my physical heart and placing His desires in my spiritual heart. I am reminded of a little chorus we used to sing as children: “Into my heart, into my heart, come into my heart Lord Jesus. Come in today, come in to stay. Come into my heart, Lord Jesus.” Thank you for your insight into the scriptures. Jim D,

    • bwebbjr says:

      Indeed … come into my heart, Lord Jesus! I only see and share what the Lord reveals by the Holy Spirit … and I am so thankful when he opens the eyes of my heart!

      Bernie

  2. I’ll second that “Thank you”. I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Leave a Reply

