the irony behind the Moses statue

The advertisement in The Paper read ‘Memorial Park South Announces The Installation Of The World’s Largest Statue Of Moses And The Ten Commandments – Visit Memorial Park South To View This Important Work Of Art’.  Since it was located in Oakwood-Flowery Branch off Falcon Parkway near 12Stone, we decided to check it out after church this past Sunday.

And after wandering around the cemetery a few minutes, we found the statue on the back side of their acreage overlooking what appears to be an under construction mausoleum …

Just to give you a little size perspective my grandson struck a pose next to the statue … and if you’re wondering … yes, the Bible says the Ten Commandments were written on tablets on two tablets …

I will admit it is a beautiful statue and there are many beautiful statues of other saints of the Bible throughout the cemetary.

So you may be wondering what is ‘the irony behind the Moses statue’?

In a day where the courts are constantly and consistently ruling that the Ten Commandments cannot be displayed on the public square and if they are, the courts are ordering them to be removed; there is great irony in the fact that the largest statue of Moses and the Ten Commandments in the world is found and has been voluntarily placed on the back side of a cemetery in a little north Georgia town to promote the sale of six burial plots?

The other irony … and you may not be able to see it too clearly in the photo … the top of the Ten Commandments tablet is absolutely covered with bird poop … no need to explain the irony in that.

Any thoughts?

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Places & Activities, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

