On the narrow road … or the broad way?

At the end of yesterday’s post, Are you a fan of follower of Jesus?, I left you with this statement, “If your answers left you somewhat in between the two, check back tomorrow.  There are three more questions and a chapter of Matthew that should help resolve any remaining issues you may have.”

For many years now Matthew 7:21-23 has been a passage of Scripture that prompts me to do some personal faith and follower examination:

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.   On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’  And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.'”

At first glance, you might wonder ‘What am I missing?’  I know I did … here’s what I learned.

  • Calling Jesus ‘Lord, Lord’ isn’t the same thing as serving Him as Lord and doing the will of His Father.
  • On the day Jesus returns, standing on your own works (even if done in the name of Jesus) instead of standing on the works of Jesus will not get you into the kingdom of heaven.
  • Your relationship with Jesus is critical … and that’s a two-way street … if Jesus doesn’t know you … well, bad times … they are a coming.

Interestingly enough in the book not a fan author Kyle Idleman sees Matthew 7:13-27 serving the same purpose as those three little verses serve for me.  (I highly recommend this challenging and convicting book.)

Mr. Idleman writes, “Is it possible that you think you are on the narrow road but you are actually on the broad road?”  (Keep in mind that Jesus said that few would find the narrow gate. bw)

He then poses three questions for the reader’s consideration as they meditate on the Matthew 7 verses …

  • Q1: Does your life reflect what you say you believe?
  • Q2: Do you think you are on the right road because of what you’ve done?
  • Q3: Do I know Jesus and does He know me?

May we meet upon the narrow road …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Books, Movies & Music, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

