dealing with peripheral neuropathy

Going on three or four weeks now I have been struggling with constant numbness in the toes and the balls of both feet … and in the last few weeks I have also started experiencing numbness in the finger tips of both hands as well.

The medical name of this nervous system sensation … this side effect … brought on by chemotherapy is called peripheral neuropathy.

Any cancer survivors out there who have struggled or are struggling with this?

A few things I have learned …

  • There is nothing you can do to prevent it.
  • For many, time will heal the nerve tissue damage … after completing all chemotherapy treatment … an option not in my future.
  • Apparently sometimes a 200mg daily dose of Vitamin B6 can help … will talk to my oncologist about that on Wednesday.
  • And you can always hold out hope for new treatments that are under study.

For some patients, this numbness can be permanent … permanent …

So far for me, it’s little more than a discomfort and an inconvenience … and a head game … which I’m struggling with more than the numbness itself.

Any advice from you cancer survivors out there?

Learning to trust in Christ more and more for all things …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to dealing with peripheral neuropathy

  1. Pingback: Good news on my peripheral neuropathy | Believing IN Christ Jesus through ALL things

Leave a Reply

