love,forgiveness, mercy and grace

“Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God.  Anyone who does not love does not know God, because GOD IS LOVE.” 1 John 4:7-8 (ESV)

IMHO … it seems that … (and without a doubt this little description is a work-in-process)

Love begets mercy begets forgiveness begets grace.

Love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God, and loves others unconditionally and without expectation choosing to care for, serve and bear the burdens of others ahead of their own burdens  … loving one another as Jesus has and is loving us.

Mercy is refusing to bestow punishment, curses and/or judgment upon one who seemingly deserves it (as do we all) because being born of God we have chosen to love others as God loves us.

Forgiveness is the minute-by-minute, hour-by-hour and day-by-day doling out of God’s love, mercy and grace to others in response to the actual and/or perceived wrongs they have committed against us.

Grace is choosing, out of God’s love, to bestow love, blessings and rewards upon one who seemingly does NOT deserve it (as none of us do) just as out of His love God bestows grace upon His children each and every moment of every day through Christ Jesus by the Holy Spirit.

The good news … I think I understand how Jesus desires to live and love through me.

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”  Galatians 2:20 (ESV)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to love,forgiveness, mercy and grace

  1. Anne Kirkland says:

    Dearest and Beloved Brother,

    I read Romans 15:13 today, and believe God is leading me to give it to you:

    “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit”..

    In Christ’s Love,

    Anne

    • bwebbjr says:

      Hi Anne,

      Such a great inspiring passage of Scripture … thanks for being faithful to your convictions and passing it on.

      I constantly sense the joy, peace and hope that are found only IN Christ Jesus.

      Thanks again for the reminded!

      Yours IN Christ!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

