Date night in the den of the anti-yellow-jacket

Over the last four weeks at church, we have been in a message series titled ‘Just Married’ that’s been focused on helping couples grow their marriage IN Christ.  In each of the four weeks, all sorts of date night activities were suggested and each week had a series of questions and topics for you and your spouse to discuss … basically going a bit deeper than a lot of the shallow conversation we allow our marriages to survive upon.

For week two, my wife and I chose to head into the den of the anti-yellow-jacket for our date night … Athens, GA.  (The local humor may be lost here … the University of Georgia Bulldogs call Athens, GA home and one of their greatest rivalries are with the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets of Atlanta, GA).

Our destination for the night … Panera Bread.  We both happen to love their chicken with wild rice soup along with baguettes.  And we split a huge oatmeal-raisin cookie – the big, soft and chewy kind.  We went through our date night questions.  The best question for the night:  What are three words you would use to describe your spouse?  We had fun with that one … of course somethings are best kept between husband and wife.

Also, I had thrown a couple of games in my coat pocket so we could play some games before we headed to our next destination.  First we played some Phase 10 Dice … it’s just like the card game … it’s just played with dice.  Then we played the ever popular and ever different Pass the Pigs.  What’s not to like about a game with scoring names like trotter, snouter, razorback, jowler, oinker, etc.  We love this little game … and you can take it anywhere … just throw it in your pocket!  We had a blast playing games.

And what trip to Panera is complete without taking bagels home for breakfast … my wife’s favorite Asiag0 Cheese … mine cinnamon raisin.

Then we entered into the brief shopping section of date night with stops at Target and Barnes and Noble.  At Target, I snapped up the $15.99 Wrangler Jeans … since August I’ve lost 30 lbs and 35 is probably only a week or so away.  This winter my wife has been doing a Hometown Collection 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle each weekend so we always look to see what’s new … the one we found would be a gift from our grandson to Nana for Valentine’s Day!

At Barnes and Noble, I was in search of a three pack of Moleskine Cahier Pocket Notebooks. I got hooked on the use of these notebooks in the last six months … it’s a pocket journal for me in which I record To-Do lists, shopping lists, weight tracking, trip planning, memory verses, quotes and thoughts for my twitter account and my blog.  Small, pocket size and durable … I really like them.  I went with the tan color this time … the black last time …

All this food, fun, games and shopping and we were still home by 9pm on a weeknight!

You got any neat and cheap date night activities you’d be willing to share?  Would love to hear them!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Games, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Date night in the den of the anti-yellow-jacket

  1. bernie, it is nice to talk to you. We really miss you on Xanga. I hope all medical healings are going well for you. I am sorry to hear of your cancer. You look like your doing well. I wanted to send you a private note but do not have your email so I will send it this way and when I hear back from you I will send the note. God Bless
    Robert.

Leave a Reply

