Is spiritual healing greater than physical healing?

The answer to that question is a matter of perspectives.  Is God answering or is a human being answering? If it’s from a human perspective, are you in good health or are you suffering?

From personal experience, I can tell you that when you’re going through post-surgery recovery in the hospital, the last thing you’re interested in is spiritual healing.  You want physical healing … a miracle … and ‘now’ … is a day late.  But don’t take my word for it …

And when he returned to Capernaum after some days, it was reported that he was at home.  And many were gathered together, so that there was no more room, not even at the door. And he was preaching the word to them.  And they came, bringing to him a paralytic carried by four men.  And when they could not get near him because of the crowd, they removed the roof above him, and when they had made an opening, they let down the bed on which the paralytic lay.  And when Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, “Son, your sins are forgiven.”  Now some of the scribes were sitting there, questioning in their hearts, “Why does this man speak like that? He is blaspheming! Who can forgive sins but God alone?”  And immediately Jesus, perceiving in his spirit that they thus questioned within themselves, said to them, “Why do you question these things in your hearts? Which is easier, to say to the paralytic, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say, ‘Rise, take up your bed and walk’?  But that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins”—he said to the paralytic—“I say to you, rise, pick up your bed, and go home.”  And he rose and immediately picked up his bed and went out before them all, so that they were all amazed and glorified God, saying, “We never saw anything like this!” Mark 2:1-12 (ESV)

I can’t help but think that the four friends were bringing the paralytic friend to Jesus for physical healing … and the religious scribes were even upset that Jesus offered spiritual healing instead of physical healing.  (Important:  Jesus believes spiritual healing is of first importance.)

Please note: the crowd did not become amazed and begin glorifying God until Jesus physically healed the paralytic …

Also note this prayer from James …

Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord.  And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven.  James 5:14-15 (ESV)

I have always read that passage as a prayer about physical healing. Now I am definitely NOT the definitive authority in Scripture interpretation … but reading it now all I see is that spiritual healing is of first concern to God.

And because God sees spiritual healing as being greater than physical healing …

Cancer is not a death sentence for me because on the cross Jesus transformed my death sentence into God’s gift of eternal life.

Thank you Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is spiritual healing greater than physical healing?

  1. Anne Kirkland says:

    Bernie,
    My heart is especially burdened for you this morning. I just want to let you know that I love you and continue to pray for your healing, both spiritual and physical. I do agree that spiritual healing is much greater than physical, because we are created as spirit beings. We have a soul, and live in a body that is only temporary, but that body can cause us some serious grief, can’t it?

    Jesus is Truth, He is Light, and He is Love. I pray that you will be lifted up as He continues to reveal his Truth to you, that you will see His Light shining in all of your dark places, and that you will be surrounded and infused with His Love.

    Check your email later today for a message from me.

    Your Sister IN Christ,

    Anne

Leave a Reply

