intricately woven in the depths of the earth …

Psalm 139 is one of my favorite passages of Old Testament scripture.

Specifically I am drawn to verses 13-16 …

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.  My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.

In recent years I have really been fascinated … captivated … by the phrase ‘intricately woven in the depths of the earth‘.  Now the standard explanation in virtually every commentary for this phrase is simply ‘formed in my mother’s womb.

Now I’m not here to question that explanation … people far wiser and spiritual than I have come to a consensus explanation.

But I am goings to share some conclusions one inquiring mind can’t help but wonder about … please, please treat them for what they are … just one man’s thoughts.

And God said, “Let the waters under the heavens be gathered together into one place, and let the dry land appear.” And it was so.   God called the dry land Earth, and the waters that were gathered together he called Seas. And God saw that it was good.  Genesis 1:9-10 (ESV)

Could God’s intricate weaving in the depths of the earth have begun on day 3 of creation?

When no bush of the field was yet in the land and no small plant of the field had yet sprung up—for the LORD God had not caused it to rain on the land, and there was no man to work the ground,  and a mist was going up from the land and was watering the whole face of the ground— then the LORD God formed the man of dust from the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living creature.  Genesis 2:5-7 (ESV)

Could God’s intricate weaving in the depths of the earth continued on day 6 of creation when the LORD God formed man from the dust of the ground … a ground created on day 3 of creation?

Have you ever stopped to consider that when God created Adam every gene that would be needed to create every one of his descendents across the ages were more than likely present in Adam’s body?

The man called his wife’s name Eve, because she was the mother of all living.  Genesis 3:20 (ESV)

Have you ever stopped to consider that if you could trace your family tree back to your original ancestors it would end up with Adam and Eve?

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places, even as he chose us IN him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. Ephesians 1:3-4 (ESV)

Have you ever stopped to consider that if God chose believers IN Christ Jesus before the foundation of the world that he would also have known every man and woman who would be born across the ages before He ever created Adam?

Oh well, enough of one man’s thoughts …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

