Expanding the horizons of my reading world

For nearly a year I had been using the Kindle software on my PC to read kindle books … but in February of this year the horizons of my reading world were expanded considerably when my sister gave me an Amazon Kindle.  Virtually every book I read for the remainder of the year was on the Kindle … by EOD December 31 it looks like I will have read 55 books.

(Note:  I have kept a list of every book I have read since 1984 … I know our pastors say our checkbook reveals what’s important to us … scan a list of books you’ve read over nearly 30 years and you will learn a lot about yourself as well.)

If you wonder how getting a Kindle expanded my reading horizon, let me explain:

  • After the initial investment in a kindle (and since mine was a gift, I didn’t even have that), books are much cheaper…
  • Amazon even publishes a top 100 free kindle books list … not only overall … but also in several categories.  Oftentimes I try some free books that I would probably never pay to read and am pleasantly surprised.
  • There are two websites I follow that keep me posted on any reduced pricing on Kindle books … gospelebooks.net and inspiredreads.com … I’m sure there are many more … I follow their websites and their twitter accounts … sometimes the specials don’t last long
  • I have eliminated all those trips to the bookstore to browse for books … the plus gas savings
  • Not only are the newer books available but many of the classics as well.
  • The Amazon Prime membership ($79 annual membership) in addition to two-day shipping and instant streaming of videos and TV shows now included a Kindle Owner’s Lending Library.
  • Also Amazon is also working closely with libraries throughout the country so you can check out kindle books at your local library.  Many are up and going already

You can probably tell that I really like my kindle.

For me personally … just two negative points.

  1. That eBay resale market I had going on books I read that weren’t keepers went away.
  2. I have a significant ebook library (PDF) that I have not found a good way to get to my kindle in a readable format … readable format being the key phrase.  If you have any tips, leave me a link or a comment.

So do you have a Kindle?  If so, how do you like it?

Or maybe a Nook?  What prompted you to choose it over a Kindle and how are you liking it?

Hope to share a list later this week of my favorite books read this year … stay tuned.

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Reflections, Technology & Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Expanding the horizons of my reading world

  1. My husband loves his Kindle, although he is not a “tech” person. The reason is he likes to read lots of books (about 1-2/week) and he finds having lots of books in one place is convenient as he will buy 10 or so and have them on cue so when he finishes one, he can move to the next one right away.

    I can’t help still preferring an actual bound book, and I can usually get them for a few dollars if they are used.

    Great post!

    • bwebbjr says:

      I am a lot like your husband in my reading habits. I made reading complex by typically being in 3-4 times a week (although I’m finding the chemo makes that more and more difficult) … so that became much easier with the Kindle. Toting a handful of books from home to work each day because I wasn’t sure what I might read at lunch (one of my favorite times to read) had become a regular routine.

      The funny thing is I remember watching a speech Bill Gates gave where he described how we would read books in the future (like we are doing now) and even I laughed at the time … I guess the joke was actually on me!

      The hard and softbound books are a long way from being a thing of the past. And you are a wise woman for buying yours used.

      Thanks for sharing you and your husband’s reading experiences and thanks for the encouragement!

      Bernie

  2. Dave Stokely says:

    Bernie, I received a Kindle for Christmas and I love it. Like you for a number of months, I’ve been reading on a PC Kindle app and on my phone with a Kindle app. I have something like 85 books and I’ve only paid for 3 of them. The rest of them are all public domain classics, etc. and I just love it. Previously when I would go on vacation, I would lug a bit canvas type bag with literally 40-50 pounds of books in it. . . now I can have a world of books at my command, and not have it weigh me down. . .

    • bwebbjr says:

      David, what a great Christmas gift … we both know there is no better way to get a Kindle. I can relate to your canvas bag full of books for vacation reading … I love your concluding thought … Kindle should pay you and use it as a marketing logo.

      Be blessed IN Christ Jesus and enjoy that Kindle!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

