And the heavens rejoice!

“What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it? And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost.’ Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance.” Luke 15:4-7 (ESV)

I invite you to rejoice with us today for one who once was lost has now been found … the Great Shepherd has called one of His sheep unto Him and he has been born-again.

My 9-year-old grandson Noah was baptized at church this morning!

It has been some time since he had received Christ Jesus as His Lord and Savior … that happened one day when we were driving around right in my truck cab … the same place I received Christ as Lord.  (It was about 20 or so so years between when I received Christ as my Savior and then received Him as my Lord … let’s just say going half way didn’t work so well …)

So it had been a while since we had really talked exactly about what following Jesus as Lord and Savior really meant.  About a month ago Noah approached Sheryl and I and said he was ready to be baptized so this week has been more about making sure he truly understood what the role of baptism is in the life of a new believer.

We reviewed some material in the book Casting Call that the children’s ministry at 12 Stone had provided and we had walked thru as a family with Noah over a year ago … paying very specific attention to the info on baptism.

All week I also found myself studying Scripture so that I could take an hour or so with Noah and review some points on salvation, being born again and baptism … if you’re interested, this PDF document (you may want to open it in a different browser tab) has the outline I ended up walking through with him yesterday. (Just one man’s feeble attempt to talk about baptism with his grandson … less than perfect I’m sure)

Preparing for the baptism of Noah

So this morning it was with a great deal of excitement and anticipation that we went to church.  As we arrived, Noah was greeted with excitement about the big day by campus Pastor Jason.  Then we spent some time with the spiritual development Pastor Cami,  And the children and youth Pastor Sean walked Noah through what to expect in the baptism itself.  He actually performed the baptism.  Noah’s great-grandparents … my parents … drove the two hours down for North Carolina to be there with him … then locally Sheryl and I, my daughter Kerstyn and her boyfriend Caleb, my daughter Cindy with our grandaughters McKenna and Chaney were also there.  Thanks to all for being there and for all the roles you play in Noah’s development as a young Christian and a young man!  Thanks for loving him!

Most importantly, Father … thank you for calling and drawing Noah unto your Son as His Lord and Savior!

Thank you for beginning a good work in Noah … it is with great joy and anticipation that I look forward to the fulfillment of your work in him …

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. Philippians 1:6 (ESV)

Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure. Philippians 2:12-13 (ESV)

For your good pleasure Lord … for your good pleasure!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And the heavens rejoice!

  1. Carrie Morrison says:

    That is so exciting! My dad has been having a class on baptism for my niece (9 in January) and nephew (10). I do pray that they (including Noah) will grow up to both love and serve the Lord!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Hi Carrie … I would have loved the opportunity to be a fly on the wall during your dad’s class on baptism with your niece and nephew. You so want to make it easy to understand yet not so simple that it results in easy believism or a watering down of the Gospel and Scripture. Yes, let’s get these three young children in our prayers. May this be but the beginning of a lifelong devotion to Christ Jesus … to a life IN Christ!

      May the Holy Spirit guide your dad in all he does as a pastor, as a father and as teacher to these young children … and may the Lord bless you and yours IN Christ Jesus and His love!

      Bernie

  2. Anne Kirkland says:

    Bernie,

    I join you in rejoicing in Noah’s salvation and baptism. I am so thankful that he has chosen to accept the free gift offered to him, and now he is in Christ, and Christ is in him. What peace and joy that must give you and Sheryl.

    I also rejoice that you both have nurtured him and shared your faith with him by living it in front of him every day. You can just see God’s hand in all of Noah’s life.

    Proud to be your sister IN Christ,

    Anne

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks Anne … Sheryl and I are so encouraged by what we see happening in both Kerstyn’s and Noah’s lives. They were both raised so much differently than the older girls … with the emphasis on both spiritual growth and our commitment to homeschooling them.

      Noah is such a spiritual young child … he has insights and offers up prayers whose timing and words amaze Sheryl and I … so we truly believe Christ is living IN him and he IN Christ.

      We (as is Noah) are hopeful and excited about the next steps the Lord has planned for him!

      Your brother IN Christ!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

