quotes that are challenging and inspiring me

Without a doubt Scripture committed to heart is the best way to be challenged and inspired in your daily walk of faith with Christ Jesus.

That said, sometimes we find that the quotes of men, be they by believers or non-believers, do indeed reflect Biblical truths and can be easier to relate to.

Here are a few of the quotes that have been challenging and inspiring me over the last three months.

“Peace is not the absence of conflict, but the presence of God no matter what the conflict.” -Anonymous

“Faith is a refusal to panic.” – David Martyn Lloyd-Jones

“Faith is facing the facts without being discouraged by them.  It’s not defying the diagnosis but defying a verdict.” – Rick Warren

“Faith is believing that the outcome will be what it should be, no matter what it is.” – Colette Baron-Reid

“Faith is accepting that you don’t know, and trusting that God does.” – Brandi Keeler

“Courage doesn’t always roar.  Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying. ‘I will try again tomorrow.'” – Mary Anne Radmacher

“Standing together with their family and friends, people can triumph through the experience of cancer.” – Amy Givler, M.D.

“So if there is a purpose in the suffering that is cancer, I think it must be this: It’s meant to improve us.” – Lance Armstrong

Any thoughts and insights on any of the above quotes?

Do you have any quotes you would be willing to share that challenge and inspire you in the midst of your daily walk?

May you and yours be blessed and encouraged by the love of Christ Jesus!!!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to quotes that are challenging and inspiring me

  1. Very nice Bernie. I enjoyed those.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Good to see someone else up early this morning David … glad you enjoyed the quotes.

      May you and yours be blessed IN the love of Christ Jesus!

      Bernie

  2. savvy sister says:

    These are great. I am tweeting the Lance Armstrong quote now.

    I always took comfort in St Terese de Lisieux’s quote. There is more to it but this is the part I like to repeat:
    May you trust God that you are exactly where you are meant to be.

    May you not forget the infinite possibilities that are born of faith.

    • bwebbjr says:

      If you haven’t read ‘It’s Not About the Bike” it’s about Lance Armstrong’s battle with cancer … a very powerful book. Did you know he won a record setting six Tour De France trophys AFTER his battle with cancer?

      I am making note of your two quotes as future tweet material as well. Thanks!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

