My baby blue seat belt cushy

My baby blue seat belt cushy … just one more thing for me to be self-conscious about.  Just so I can set the tone and get you in the mood for this somewhat humorous post, let’s start with a picture …

Kinda shoots down the whole manly macho image the pickup truck thing usually projects upon the driver, doesn’t it?

For all you baby moms out there … no, there are no toys velcro’d to the steering wheel … it is a real steering wheel after all.  And I refuse to answer any questions about the sippy cup in the cupholder … although I will say I have found Cheerios and cookie crumbs down in the creases of my car seat … I mean driver’s seat.  OK, and I might have thrown a few toys out the window … but it was just to see if my mom … I mean wife … would stop and pick them up and give them back to me.

No, I’m not sensitive about this … absolutely not … never …

You know … when I’m at the drive-thru teller window at the bank, I know the teller wants to tell me how cute I am and ask me if I’d like a lollipop …

And as for the fast food drive-thru windows, the teenage cashiers seem to get caught in a momentary dilemma as they stare at me open-mouthed … do I make a joke? Do I ask why? Do I tell him how lame he looks? Or do I simply keep my mouth shut?  A dilemma their puzzled faces seem to suggest is still unresolved as I drive away without ordering a happy meal or ice cream …

OK, now that I have revealed a few more of my self-conscious phobias there is a valid medical reason for my baby blue seat belt cushy (and thank you Lord that it did not come in just pink!).  My port-catheter where they hook me up for chemo is right under the shoulder strap on my seat belt.  And it can be an extremely sensitive spot that first week of bi-weekly chemotherapy and just somewhat sensitive the rest of the time.  So my first chemo nurse Tara set me up with the cushy (provided to the oncologist by Sanofi Aventis).  Thanks Tara!!! My cushy makes all the difference in keeping me physically comfortable as I drive.

Here’s hoping they come up with something a little different for the menfolk in the future that is maybe navy blue or even better camouflage … camouflage says ‘Don’t mess with me … I’m out to shoot something’ and that just might be helpful at the bank and the fast-food drive-thru.  Of course, then I’d need to get a gun rack … accessorize … accessorize … accessorize …

Gotta go … looking on Amazon to see if SnugZee makes those car seat head support pillows in adult sizes and in the color baby blue …

(Have to love my mentor Corban – he just e-mailed me, “In case of a water landing (aka crash), your seat belt cushy can serve as a flotation device.”  Thanks brother!!!) 

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My baby blue seat belt cushy

  1. lindylu44 says:

    I think it’s genious! I don’t drive much anymore thanks to my herniated discs in my neck, but when I do the seatbelt is always rubs against my port as well, please direct me to a website where I can order a pretty pink one. The camo wouldn’t be bad either, I, too can shoot pretty well unfortunate hunting accident aside. In fact the bullet only grazed him, don’t know why he was so upset about it.

    • bwebbjr says:

      All my jokes aside … I would fight to keep my baby blue seat belt cushy. It really does protect my port-catheter and keeps it from getting irritated. Unfortunately after doing some googling I have been unable to find anyone selling something similar … mine was a drug company freebie provided thru my oncologist. I tend to agree with you … grazing has such a peaceful ring to it …

      Bernie

      • lindylu44 says:

        Good news Bernie, I talke to my pain management doctor today and he’s going to hook me up with a seat belt cushy of my very own. I will be sure to post a picture when I get it.

        I also took the liberty of adding you to my blog roll, I hope you don’t mind.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Great news on the seat belt cushy – I hope you find it to be a real comfort aid when you’re driving. Thanks so much for adding me to your blog roll … I have done the same thing with your blog here.

      Be blessed IN Christ Jesus and His love!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

