‘Hope in the Face of Cancer’ by Amy Givler MD

Far and away and beyond compare … the best book to have in your collection of cancer books is … the Bible … numero uno.

That said … I believe there are also many lessons to be learned from the many authors who share their human experience through the books they write.  Back in September, I shared a mini-review of the book Trusting God: Even When Life Hurts by Jerry Bridges.  While not specifically addressing cancer as a whole, this was a very timely read and has been very helpful to me.

At the time, I asked for recommendations of similar books that might prove helpful in dealing with cancer.  While there were no responses here on wordpress, over on google+ one of my circle friends suggested the book Hope in the Face of Cancer: A Survival Guide for the Journey You Did Not Choose by Amy Givler M.D.

One thing that particularly drew me to this book, in addition to the topic, was that the author is a Christian, a doctor and a cancer survivor.  She also received her diagnosis and began her treatment while pregnant.  So this book, while very educational (I can see myself referring back to certain chapters from time to time) is also very experiential.

Here are the chapters:

  1. Looking at Cancer In a New Way
  2. Hearing – or Not Hearing – the Word “Cancer” for the First Time
  3. Adjusting Emotionally to the Diagnosis
  4. Entering the Medical World
  5. How Medical Care Becomes Trustworthy
  6. Choosing a Healthy Attitude
  7. Thinking Through the Options Promptly
  8. Getting Specialized Help
  9. Making Decisions in Partnership
  10. Facing Family and Friends
  11. Coping with Treatment
  12. Sensing a Spiritual Dimension
  13. Searching for Meaning

The book then wraps up with an Afterword, A Guide to Medical Resources and a comprehensive Notes section.

From my perspective this book did a good job preparing me for what to expect both now and in the future of this cancer journey … so it gets two thumbs up from me.

Have you read this book?  If so, please share your comments and insights regarding the book.

Does anyone have any other books that might recommend to the cancer warrior who finds himself in the midst of the battle?

Be blessed IN Christ Jesus and His love!!!

Bernie 

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Books, Movies & Music, Cancer & Medicine, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Hope in the Face of Cancer’ by Amy Givler MD

  1. Ermilia says:

    I haven’t read this book, but I’m currently reading Streetwise Spirituality by Jim Thomas. It is not cancer specific, but it talks about relating to God in the real world.
    -Eliabeth Hawthorne

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for the recommendation Eliabeth … and thanks for providing the author’s name as well for Amazon is currently offering two books with the same title, and apparently this one is out-of-print though still widely available, Based on the book recap at books.google.com it seems to have a lot in common with a section of the above book where Dr. Givler compares and contrasts intrinsic religion vs. extrinsic religion (aka general spirituality vs. Christianity / religion). I’ve added the book to my wish list on amazon and look forward to reading it – thanks again for the recommendation!

      Be blessed IN Christ Jesus and His love!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

