Chemo window of vulnerability

Monday through Wednesday of this week I have been on a somewhat oncologist-ordered self-imposed in-home reverse-quarantine.

Don’t misunderstand … cancer has not suddenly become contagious.  But due to my chemotherapy a week ago, I am now in the midst of a chemo window of vulnerability.  Let me explain.

Found this good explanation on lungcancer.about.com:

“Chemotherapy affects not only cancer cells, but other rapidly dividing cells in the body as well.  This includes the cells in the bone marrow that go on to become red blood cells (RBCs), white blood cells (WBCs), and platelets.”

Apparently 7-10 days after in-office chemo, your bone marrow blood cell production is at its lowest level and as a cancer patient you become vulnerable to the things that on a normal basis your red blood cells, white blood cells and platelets would protect you from.

A little refresher:

  • White blood cells help you fight infection.
  • Red blood cells carry oxygen throughout your body.
  • Platelets helps your blood to clot.

So the window of vulnerability risks:

  • With low white blood cell counts, one is at a higher risk of catching and/or developing an infection.
  • Low red blood cell counts represent anemia … often marked by fatigue (#1 side effect of chemo) and shortness of breath.
  • Low number of platelets in your blood can cause bleeding.

So I have a dozen or so side effects I watch for that should prompt a call to my oncologist … I won’t bore you with that list.

A few of my doctor orders precautions:

  • Avoid germs – avoid people who are sick and avoid crowds where germs are sure to exist and flourish.  (Apparently Wal-Mart and movie theaters get a bad rap on this point.) So my wife has put me on a shopping and movie restriction … bummer …
  • Avoid injury … or anything that could prompt bleeding.  Ex: shaving with a razor blade, hard brushing/flossing of teeth, taking aspirin, etc. … like I had a desire to bleed to begin with …
  • Eat a balanced diet … your body needs all the help you can give through diet for healing itself during treatment.
  • Rest whenever your body prompts you to … between the chemo and the cancer, your body needs rest to heal.

(Note: A great deal of the above, while exactly what my oncologist has instructed me, came from a paper by the Mayo Clinic titled “Low blood cell counts: Side effect of cancer treatment”.  If interested, I would highly recommend giving it a read.)

For those of you with curious and inquisitive minds about cancer and chemotherapy, I hope this was somewhat eye opening.  I know it was for me when I was first told of it during the Chemotherapy 101 class.

Lord Jesus, my life, my health is in your hands.  Please protect and provide for me during the bi-weekly chemo window of vulnerability.  Thank You for all Your love and faithfulness!!!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chemo window of vulnerability

  1. Great advice and info!
    Diet can be a help or a hinderance to getting through treatment. It’s important to allow your body to conserve energy and spend it on your immune system. Eating cooked bland foods …steamed veggies, soups, avoiding heavy spices…is gentle to your system. Raw and spicy foods, and meats use a lot of energy to digest…energy you could be using to stay healthy.
    Sounds like you’re armed with great info, and info is power.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for the insights on diet and sharing how even what you eat can rob your immune system of needed energy … I do indeed have so much to learn. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Peter says:

    Bernie, I appreciate your strength in Christ during such a difficult trial. I don’t think that I have words that can fully express how encouraging your posts are to me. You are in the Father’s arms and He will use this trial for His glory, the Bride’s glory, and your glory.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks Peter … quite frankly I can’t imagine going through such a crisis of life apart from Christ Jesus. As you say, my strength is IN Christ Jesus … it is indeed His strength and life that is sustaining me … and regardless of the outcome I will be eternally thankful for His presence in the midst. May the Father … and not I … be glorified!!!

Leave a comment