Engaging the enemy … let the battle begin!

I learned a valuable lesson this week.

“The battle has not yet begun if the enemy has not yet been engaged.”

It’s easy to have faith against a yet-engaged enemy … actually that is probably not so much faith as simply confidence … or maybe even just plain old optimism.

While we had known about the cancer for over six weeks, the time had been spent wisely and carefully evaluating the enemy’s progress and entrenched positions along with preparing a battle plan for our first day of resistance with an ultimate goal of totally annihilating the enemy!

Our resistance / invasion began on Monday September 26, 2011 with Day One of my chemotherapy treatments … let the battle begin!

It wasn’t the easiest first week … but it certainly could have been so much more worse.  Jesus was faithful and He surrounded we with an army of prayer warriors, care givers and angels … and a wife unwilling to accept defeat!

Chemotherapy is a powerful agent of destruction against cancer cells … unfortunately there are some healthy cells with many of the same characteristics that will also suffer from the treatment … a kind of ‘friendly fire’ consequence.

In looking for scriptural encouragement this morning for the battle ahead, I was drawn to Paul’s letters to  Timothy and some advice he offered:

But as for you, O man of God, flee these things. Pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, steadfastness, gentleness.  Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called and about which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses. 1 Timothy 6:11-12 (ESV)

Know what steadfastness means?  Neither did I …

steadfastness: loyalty in the face of of trouble and difficulty, steadfast resolution … which then pushed me to understand the word resolute …

resolute: firm in purpose or belief, characterized by firmness and determination

Yes, I think I learned this week that my steadfastness and resolution are lacking … turn that potter’s wheel Lord … turn it and let me be molded and fired according to your will so that one day I might be able to say, just as our brother Paul …

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 2 Timothy 4:7 (ESV)

Yes Lord! Yes Lord! Yes Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Engaging the enemy … let the battle begin!

  1. Cancer sucks….Chemo sucks. There’s no doubt about it. But you have the right attitude, and it sounds like you have the right loved one’s around you, and God behind you.

    I am confident that had it not been for my faith, I would not be here right now.

    Oct 2 is the feast day of Guardian Angels. Have faith that yours will be working overtime..with no breaks…cause that’s how He rolls.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Good to hear from a cancer survivor who believes she is winning the battle due to her faith. I do appreciate your advice and encouragement. Thanks for the comment and the Like. May God bless you in the battle and the journey!!!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

