What type cancer do you have?

Few new folks are reading the blog here on WordPress and over on Google+ and I while I have always realized there are a wide variety of cancers, I am just coming to understand that the treatments vary based on the kind of cancer you have.  So I thought I’d give some of the immediate background on the cancer I have.

A colonoscopy in April of this year followed up by one in early August prompted my surgeon to recommend a colectomy.  He did not encounter a polyp just a very irritated and enlarging section of colon where the biopsy indicated pre-cancerous.  CT scans just before the surgery revealed a mass around the outside of the colon as well as some spots on the lung.

When the surgeon opened me up for the colectomy, he found a large mass which proved to cancerous (he removed much of the mass) but the mess he found prompted the decision for a colostomy instead of a colectomy.  So the colostomy bag is now part of my life … with the emphasis on life.

A later needle biopsy into the lung nodule of concern revealed it was also cancerous.  So the fact that the colon cancer has spread to other parts of the body means it is in Stage IV.  So I have Metastatic Colon Cancer … the metastatic also meaning it has spread to other parts of the body … in this case the lung.

So if you were curious … I am being treated for Stage IV Metastatic Colon Cancer.

And while my oncologist and all the nurses provide incredible care and treatment for this cancer I am battling, while my wife Sheryl is providing incredible love, care and support to me in the midst, I have no doubt the cure, the healing and the number of my days are solely in the hands of God as He has chosen.  Trusting Him in the outcome He has planned is an all-encompassing act of faith … one that admittedly I often lose sight of … but nonetheless in my heart know to be true.

I take comfort in this quote I recently encountered in ‘The Prisoner in the Third Cell’ by Gene Edwards:

“Before this present tragedy entered into your life, if first passed through the sovereign hand of God.”

Great comfort indeed …

May God comfort and care for you in the midst of your trials and tribulations!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What type cancer do you have?

  1. Rosanne says:

    Hi Bernie,
    I just stumbled upon your blog. I’m so sorry to hear what you are going through. My experience might just be the answer to your prayers. I’d like to share my blog at http://worked4me.wordpress.com. It tells my story where I developed a lesion in my liver after chemo for adenocarcinoma of the colon. While waiting for more surgery and more chemo I tried an alternative cancer treatment and it worked! Over more than a years time the lesion is now completely gone. I’m not trying to sell anything, I just want to try to help as many people as possible. Please read my story. If you’d like to contact me with any questions, my email address is posted in the blog. I’ll keep you in my prayers, Rosanne

    • bwebbjr says:

      Hi Rosanne – thanks for sharing the link to your great story and your positive results with the hydrogen peroxide therapy. I have never heard of that before. So glad to hear it is working for you and I will certainly keep your alternative treatment, along with a few others folks have shared with me, under consideration. Thanks again for sharing your good news Rosanne-

      Be blessed by the love of God!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

